Louisiana & Special Collections will be open by advance appointment only on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 10 am-1 pm. Currently, we are only making appointments for UNO faculty, staff, and student researchers. Please email email@example.com with any questions about our collections or policies.
The Earl K. Long Library's Louisiana and Special Collections contains over 500 manuscript collections, which include records of local businesses, papers of former UNO faculty members and other local figures, New Orleans and Louisiana ephemera, government documents such as the Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Archives, and much, much more. The Reading Room contains books, periodicals, government documents, local city directories, and other materials related to the history and culture of Louisiana, with a special focus on New Orleans.
The Louisiana Collection materials can be found in the "open stacks" area of room 402, but a majority of these items are intended for reference-use only and may not be checked out or removed from the reading room. Louisiana Collection theses and dissertations may be checked out by university students and faculty, and are the only exception to this rule.
The Special Collections portion of the Louisiana and Special Collections, houses original archive and manuscript collections, rare books, the UNO Faculty Authors Collection, and original copies of all university theses and dissertations.
Patrons are encouraged to read more about the university's history of diversity in the UNO Archives, browse through the online finding aids for our manuscript collections, or explore our online materials available in the Louisiana Digital Library.