CHEM 2025 fall 2023--Zito: Welcome

Database searching is a repetitive learning exercise; the more you practice, the better you get. Many databases function similarly: a basic search engine plus a set of relatively sophisticated limiting functions. 

• Search interfaces have common features: the ability to search for topics by a keyword (like using Google), an author, the title of an article, a review, or a specific subject. The search parameters can sometimes be specialized according to subject matter indexed by a particular database.  One of the most important things you can do to learn about a database is to check the section (often in upper right-hand corner) labelled 'Help'. It will often define the terms you see listed in a database, and once you learn them you will find they are common to many databases.
• Common limits you will see include ways to restrict your search to a specific time period, i.e. 2002- to the present, to filter out peer-reviewed from popular materials, to a certain journal, to a specific author, or publisher. All of these can be profitably used to narrow your search to retrieve high-quality citations and articles for your research. For help in database searching, please contact me (contact information on the right)   or contact the library's reference service via email or chat. 
• Evaluating and re-evaluating search results gives you ideas for refining your search and retrieving more targeted results. Scan the titles of the articles in your search result list. Note any subjects included in the description. For an article that has a promising title, click on it and check the abstract--that will give you a good idea of the scope of the article. Is it entirely appropriate or partially appropriate to your research topic? You can profit from both varieties, but at the beginning of your search process, it is best to focus on articles that you can use in its entirety.
• Connecting to full text is your next task. Many databases will offer you a link to the full text, but it isn't always available in every database. There are several options, in that case. The first is to check our catalog and find the journal in print. Using the citation from the database (you can often email yourself the full citation, sometimes in your preferred citation style), you can search the catalog and locate the item in the 2nd floor Periodical stacks. Copiers are located on the 1st and 2nd floors.

For help in searching, finding and using complete citations and questions about how to obtain materials, chat with a librarian online  or contact me, Hannah White at 504-280-6548 and jwhite15@uno.edu.

UNO Library Catalog (best for print books, e-books, and location of printed journals)

Recommended Databases:

What is a Patent?

By definition, a patent is protection granted to an invention by a national government. This protection provides leverage to the patent holder. It excludes others from creating, using, or selling an invention for a period stated in the patent document. A patent lasts for over 20 years.

What is Patentable?

Three types of patent grants include; utility, design, and plant, with most new inventions registered as utility patents. In the United States patent law, a patentable idea must be useful beyond a theory, known as “reduction to practice.” At present, the types of patentable utility inventions include,

1. A process (an operation/method producing a result)
2. A machine (a mechanically, electronically or electrically operated device)
3. Articles of manufacture
4. Research papers that are sensitive and include innovative or critical information
5. A composition of matter (chemical/metallurgical, including elemental combinations or new compounds)
6. Improvements to any of the above

Taken from the Researcher's Guide to Patents (Enago)

Quick guide to Patent Information & Search 

Home - Copyright, Patents, and Trademarks - Library Guides at University of New Orleans (uno.edu)

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office and How to Search for Patents using USPTO

 If UNO does not own the book or article you need you can use UNO's Interlibrary Loan service. Click on 'First Time Users' to create your personal account. Typical transit times are 7-10 days for printed materials and 1-4 days for online items. 

Note:  Web of Science does not contain full-text articles. It is considered a 'citation only database'; however it does have some links to outside full text sources. You will always have to use our catalog or a database like OneSearch to find the full text. If full text is not present in either one of those sources, interlibrary loan is the answer!

Research consultations are available to every student by appointment with a  librarian.

Previous to your appointment,  your librarian will ask for  a description of your project, due date, and what you hope to gain from the session. We tailor the session to your immediate research needs and offer follow-up appointments, as necessary.  Please use this form to request a research consultation.

Should you have questions, the library has answers for you! You can contact me at my coordinates above, you can call the Services desk at 504-280-6355  or chat with librarians online here: https://libguides.uno.edu/reference

Help is available. Don't waste your time being frustrated about not finding what you need or want in the library. We can help answer questions and get  you going in the right direction! 

Please take my Class Survey. Much appreciated!