Search our Research Databases for full text articles and citations.
Welcome! In our session today, we are going to explore some ideas about information, doing research, and make friends with the library website. I will guide you through and am happy to answer questions now and in the future. Find me at jwhite15atuno.edu or 504-280-6548.
Database searching is a repetitive learning exercise; the more you practice, the better you get. Many databases function similarly: a basic search engine plus a set of relatively sophisticated limiting functions.
For help in searching, finding and using complete citations and questions about how to obtain materials, chat with a librarian online or contact me, Hannah White at 504-280-6548 and firstname.lastname@example.org.
UNO Library Catalog (best for print books, e-books, and location of printed journals)
Faculty members place textbooks and other materials in the Library for student use. Students may search the database by instructor name, course abbreviation, or course number to check for available course materials.
Course Name is the first two to four letters of the course abbreviation.
ENGL will retrieve English followed by courses that follow in alphabetical order.
Course ID is both the abbreviation and course number
Searching ENGL 1158 will retrieve this course at the top of the results list
Searching Blankenship will retrieve this name at the top of the results list.
By definition, a patent is protection granted to an invention by a national government. This protection provides leverage to the patent holder. It excludes others from creating, using, or selling an invention for a period stated in the patent document. A patent lasts for over 20 years.
Three types of patent grants include; utility, design, and plant, with most new inventions registered as utility patents. In the United States patent law, a patentable idea must be useful beyond a theory, known as “reduction to practice.” At present, the types of patentable utility inventions include,
Taken from the Researcher's Guide to Patents (Enago)
If UNO does not own the book or article you need you can use UNO's Interlibrary Loan service. Click on 'First Time Users' to create your personal account. Typical transit times are 7-10 days for printed materials and 1-4 days for online items.
Note: Web of Science does not contain full-text articles. It is considered a 'citation only database'; however it does have some links to outside full text sources. You will always have to use our catalog or a database like OneSearch to find the full text. If full text is not present in either one of those sources, interlibrary loan is the answer!
Research consultations are available to every student by appointment with a librarian.
Previous to your appointment, your librarian will ask for a description of your project, due date, and what you hope to gain from the session. We tailor the session to your immediate research needs and offer follow-up appointments, as necessary. Please use this form to request a research consultation.
Should you have questions, the library has answers for you! You can contact me at my coordinates above, you can call the Services desk at 504-280-6355 or chat with librarians online here: https://libguides.uno.edu/reference
Help is available. Don't waste your time being frustrated about not finding what you need or want in the library. We can help answer questions and get you going in the right direction!
Please take my Class Survey. Much appreciated!