Skip to Main Content

Federal Documents: Understanding the Federal Government

United States Government

There are three branches of the United States government.

1. Legislative

2. Executive

3. Judicial

The Constitution of the United States provides for checks and balances of power between these three branches.

3 branches of government


How a Bill Becomes a Law

PBS Crash Course

US Budget

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.