Foreign Languages Research Guide: Find Books
UNO Catalog (books available at UNO Library)
o Use the UNO Library's online catalog to locate books in the library. Putting an author name in the subject field (last name, first name) will retrieve books that are primarily about that person (including literary criticism). You can also search by keyword to search all of the information in the catalog records, for any reference to a word or phrase.
o Be sure to jot down the call number for the book (e.g., PQ1858 .F56 2001). This tells you exactly where the book is located in the Library. The Stacks Location Chart will show the correct floor and aisle for the call number. Most literature and language books are located in the P section, down Aisle 2 on the 1st floor.
Digital Collections of National Libraries
- Biblioteca Digital HispánicaThis digital library is provided through the Biblioteca Nacional de España. It offers access to thousands of digital documents, including books printed from the 15th to the 19th century, manuscripts, images, poster, photographs, and more.
- GallicaThis digital library of public domain content is provided through the Bibliothèque nationale de France. It includes millions of documents, books, maps, images, periodicals, recordings, and more.
Other Sources for Books (beyond UNO Library)
Please note that if you identify a book that is not available in the UNO Library Catalog, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.
- Google BooksSearch the full-text of over 30 million books. Content availability varies.
- HathiTrust Digital LibrarySearch the full-text of over 10 million books digitized and preserved by a collection of libraries and research institutions. Content availability varies.
- JSTORThis platform includes approximately 25,000 e-books on language and literature topics. Though they are not all available through the UNO Library, you will find some licensed through UNO and many that have been made available Open Access.
- Project MuseThis platform includes approximately 13,500 e-books on language and literature topics. Though they are not all available through the UNO Library, you will find some licensed through UNO and many that have been made available Open Access.
Tulane Library
- Howard-Tilton (Tulane) Library CatalogFaculty and graduate students may borrow books directly from Tulane by obtaining a LOUIS borrowing card. More information about the LOUIS card is available at:
https://libguides.uno.edu/louiscard
Subject Guide
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148
504.280.6547