Foreign Languages Research Guide: Find Articles

The MLA International Bibliography indexes books, book chapters, articles, websites, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
For more information see the MLA's collection of video tutorials.

The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Complete provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

***Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index***-- The online version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index includes indexing and abstracting of more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the Arts and Humanities.
Coverage is 1975-present.

This database provides full text (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide, including Revista de Arquitectura, Estudios Sobre Educación, Revista de Estudios Hispanicos, Comunicación y Sociedad, Revista de Ciencia Politica, Revista Historia, and more.

This electronic archive of core academic journals contains about 160 literature and language journals. Coverage is for older volumes only (missing latest 3-7 years).

Google search engine focusing on scholarly publications

Definitive index (including some full text articles) to film and television topics indexes several hundred journals, with some full-text available. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from around the world. After doing a search, use the "Language" limiter on the left side to narrow your results to sources in a particular language.

(formerly French Business Source) provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.

The Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877 is a modest collection representing periodicals published in Canada (the majority), and those whose main subject is Canadian history, literature, or politics (the minority). Titles are in English and French, and were published in cities such as Montreal, Quebec, and Toronto, among others. The publications cover the gamut of subjects, including tourism, education, literature, the law, religion, and even stamp collecting.

The Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904 presents periodicals published in foreign languages primarily from the 18th and 19th centuries. These publications cut across subjects -- and include religious, literary, and political magazines -- speaking to and reflecting the interests and concerns of immigrant and ethnic communities. In addition to works published in the United States, titles also come from Paris, Montreal, London, Hamburg, Leipsig, and Mexico; languages including French, Spanish, Norwegian, German, Swedish, and Welsh are represented.