Skip to main content

Foreign Languages Research Guide: Reference Sources

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Literature Resource Center  This large database includes electronic versions of major print reference sources, including the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, the Scribner’s Writers series, and the Twayne’s author series.

Literary Reference Center  This full-text source includes biographical and critical analysis, as well as plot summaries from Masterplots.

Trésor de la Langue Française (TLFi) - historical dictionary of the French language 

Dictionnaries d'autrefois (ARTFL) - a collection of French dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries

Diccionario de la Lengue Española  -  from Real Academica Española

Biographical Information

Dictionary of Literary Biography (included in Literature Resource Center)
PN771 .D54.  Provides readable, authoritative bio-critical essays.  Though the focus is on English authors, many non-English language writers are included.  

Contemporary Authors (included in Literature Resource Center)
PN771. C586. This sources provides biographical information and bibliographical reference on a wide-ranging group of writers, including non-literary types such as journalists and academic authors. International in scope.

Bilingual Dictionaries

French-English Dictionary (WordReference - Oxford UP) 

Spanish-English Dictionary (WordReference - Oxford UP) 

To find a print copy of a bilingual dictionary that defines words in both English and another language, do a subject search in the online catalog combining the keywords as in this example:  Japanese language--dictionaries--English

French language dictionaries can be found on the 3rd floor at PC2640. 

Spanish language dictionaries can be found on the 3rd floor at PC4640.

Subject Guide

Jeanne Pavy's picture
Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

New Orleans, LA 70148

504.280.6547