Skip to Main Content

Employment Opportunities

Digital Project and Metadata Librarian

The Digital Project and Metadata Librarian is part of the Library’s Resources Management Department which includes acquisitions, cataloging, government documents, Louisiana and special collections, digital services, and collection development. This position will collaborate closely with their supervisor, the staff they supervise, and others in the department and library on their goals and responsibilities.

Responsible for providing expert knowledge in technical planning, implementation, and project management of the NEH grant-supported project, Illuminating the Unseen: Digital Projects to Commemorate Forgotten Voices in America’s Story. Work collegially with all personnel to achieve project goals.

RESPONSIBILITIES:

  • Collaborate with the Special Collections Librarian and the Archivist to create a project plan that will successfully meet the goal of digitizing 450,000 pages of the Historical Louisiana Supreme Court Collection.
  • Integrate relevant national standards and best practices into the NEH project work plan.
  • Add content and metadata to the Library’s existing digital asset management system, DSpace.
  • Set scanning standards for the project
  • Ensure that metadata is OAI-PMH compliant
  • Train staff and others in the processes and procedures of scanning to develop high levels of productivity and quality
  • Create metadata and train staff to input appropriate descriptive and administrative metadata for scanned materials
  • Work with the Archivist to create a collection of this metadata in the Louisiana Digital Library
  • May prepare an online exhibit of digitized materials
  • May enhance the existing finding aid for this collection
  • Work with the Special Collections Librarian to document project progress as required by the NEH.
  • Collaborate with the Special Collections Librarian to produce and disseminate the results of the NEH grant-funded project for professional publications and conferences.

QUALIFICATIONS:

Required:  Master’s degree in Library and Information Science from an ALA-accredited institution; demonstrable experience with digital asset management systems DSpace, Islandora, and ArchivesSpace. Understanding of MARC, Dublin Core, and MODS metadata standards. Digital imaging experience; knowledge of database management principles and software; knowledge of best practices in digital project creation, management, and preservation; excellent communication and interpersonal skills both orally and in writing; ability to work productively and collegially with diverse groups in an urban academic setting. A strong commitment to promoting and enhancing equity, diversity, and inclusion in an urban academic setting

Preferred:  Experience working with archival and special collections materials. Training or supervisory experience. Experience uploading content to the Louisiana Digital Library

APPLY ONLINE