LOUSIANA AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS STUDENT WORKER
EARL K LONG LIBRARY, UNIVERSITY OF NEW ORLEANS
Work available from 11 am - 6 pm, Tuesday - Thursday
SUMMARY:
Works under the supervision of the Louisiana and Special Collections faculty and staff. Responsible for serving as a peer role model in following library policies. Staffs the Reading Room reference desk. Provides answers to directional and general information questions, as well as information about library services and policies, including Reading Room policies, to patrons. Performs basic searches in databases and the library's catalog. Directs patrons to the appropriate finding aids related to their research question. Assists users with computers and scanners in the Reading Room. Properly handles and scans special collections materials. Inventory materials. Maintain positive interactions with library users.
RESPONSIBILITIES:
- Assist Library staff person at the Louisiana Collection Desk as directed (minding the desk, pulling collections, familiarizing patrons with Reading Room procedures, etc.)
- Staff the Reading Room desk when scheduled alone.
- Answer the phone and take a message, or provide open hours or other basic information
- Provide basic reference assistance to patrons, such as helping them use online finding aids, locating materials in the Louisiana Collection, and conducting basic searches in America’s Historical Newspapers and America’s News Database.
- Assist patrons in the basic use of the UNO Library Catalog [OPAC]
- Locate, retrieve, and re-shelve Louisiana books, journals, and vertical file materials
- Locate, retrieve, and re-shelve Special Collections materials
- Monitor patrons to ensure proper usage of archival materials
- Assist with compiling projects, using MS Word, Excel documents
- Perform special assignments such as scanning, shelf reading, preparing, printing labels, filing, processing books, magazines (detection strips, property stamps, etc.)
REQUIREMENTS:
- Be dependable, responsible, on-time, available, and present when scheduled to work.
- Understand and follow the library’s policies and procedures.
- Ability to perform detailed and accurate work
- Ability to learn and correctly sort and shelve materials in the Library of Congress, SUDOC, and LADOC classification systems.
- Ability to learn and use the Workflows Cataloging System for title searching, to scan in-house use, and enter items.
- Capable of lifting boxes of books and supplies weighing up to 40 pounds, pushing and pulling full book trucks, and bending and reaching to place books and journals on shelves ranging from 1 to 90 inches high.
- Willingness to work on other special projects when needed
Education Requirements: To apply for this position, you must be a current University of New Orleans student. Undergraduates must be enrolled in at least six credits per semester (three for summer).
