Archives and Inventories: 226 - 250

MSS 226 - K. Raeburn Miller Collection
Records and personal papers produced or gathered together by K. Raeburn in the course of his career as poet, English professor, and academic administrator. Includes clippings, correspondence, audio tape recordings, and other miscellany.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), (114 lin. ft.)

MSS 227 - Carnaval Interamericano (Latino) Collection
Materials received and generated by Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley in the production of a radio program on Carnaval Interamericano and Latin American music in New Orleans. The broadcast was featured on Gallery on June 15, 1991, on WWNO radio. Also included are programs, newspaper clippings, and videocassettes on subsequent festivals. In 1992 the name of the festival was changed to "Carnaval Latino."
(ca. 1991-1993), (.3 lin. ft.)

MSS 228 - Congo Square Lecture Series Collection
Videotapes of lectures of Keorapetse Kgositsile, Dr. Edward Kamau Brathwaite, Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo Hall, and Elizabeth Catlett for the Congo Square Lecture Series sponsored by the New Orleans Video Access Center. Four VHS tapes, accompanied by photocopies of pamphlets describing same.
(ca. 1987-1989), (4 videotapes)

MSS 229 - William Hession Photographs Collection
Photographs of New Orleans (mainly views of the Vieux Carre but also including views of Audubon Park, City Park, Chalmette Battlefield, Poydras Street, the Garden District and Uptown, and city docks), also views of Natchez and Vicksburg, Miss.
(ca. 1942-1958), (365 items)

MSS 230 - Matthew R. Sutherland Collection
Papers produced or received by Matthew R. Sutherland while serving as a member of the Orleans Parish School Board, 1954-1966. Consists of originals and copies of correspondence, editorials, legal documents, speeches, and miscellany including broadsides, pamphlets, resolutions, journal reprints, name and address lists, school board minutes, and Citizens' Council publications.
(ca. 1953-1963), (.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 231 - Ambrose / Nixon Tapes
Photocopies of transcripts of conversations recorded on White House tapes during the Nixon Administration (1969-1974), from Watergate Special Prosecution Force File in the National Archives; used by Dr. Stephen E. Ambrose in research for his biography of President Richard M. Nixon.
(ca. 1971-1973), (84 transcripts)

MSS 232 - New Orleans Athletic Club Collection
Records of the New Orleans Athletic Club and its predecessor, the Young Men's Gymnastic Club; Irwin F. Poche, Athletic Director of the Young Men's Athletic Club; Southern Association, Amateur Athletic Union of the United Stares. Also included are a few records of the Louisiana State Boxing Commission, the New Orleans Mid-Winter Sports Association, the New Orleans Preparatory School Athletic Association, the Playground Community Service Commission of New Orleans, and the Board of Supervisors of Elections, State of Louisiana.
(ca. 1881-1987), (24.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 233 - American Chemical Society, Louisiana Section
Records of the Louisiana Section of the American Chemical Society. Consists of minutes, reports, correspondence, programs, activities, historical information, organizational materials, clippings, publicity materials, and publications regarding the fifty years of the Louisiana Section of the A.C.S.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1906-1976), ( lin. ft.)

MSS 234 - Charles Ebert Collection
Mainly correspondence from family members in Alsace, Germany to Charles Ebert (May 24, 1856 - February 14, 1910, New Orleans), an Alsatian who immigrated to New Orleans in 1873; collection also includes material on genealogy of Ebert family. Consists primarily of correspondence, miscellaneous documents and photographs.
(ca. 1837-1982), (.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 235 - New Orleans Views Collection
Photographic prints of New Orleans views. Each print measures approximately 4 1/2" x 7 3/8", with 22 of same on black mount boards measuring 5 1/4" x 8 1/2", and 1 on white mount board measuring 5" x 8". Views include Spanish Fort, Margaret Place, Lee Circle, United States Mint, Metairie Cemetery, Jackson Square, old Parish Prison, steamships and the riverfront, Canal Street with Henry Clay statue and September 14, 1874 monument, New Basin Canal road, and Lake Pontchartrain terminus. Handwritten identification on the reverse of mount boards has not been verified.
(ca. 1890), (23 items)

MSS 236 - Frank A. Von der Haar Collection (missing)
Records compiled by Von der Haar while building his collection of works by and about William Faulkner. Also included are a few items used by Dr. Donald Hendricks in purchasing materials to augment Von der Haar's collection of Faulkneriana. Includes correspondence, catalogues, invoices, receipts, order forms, brochures, newsletters, clippings, price lists, and related memoranda. Von der Haar's original arrangement of generally keeping documents in chronological order in series under the names of the booksellers with whom he dealt has been retained.
(ca. 1961-1985), (.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 237 - New Orleans College of Pharmacy Collection
Records of the Junior and subsequently Senior class of the New Orleans College of Pharmacy. One (1) volume of minutes containing inclusions of correspondence, receipts, and notations; also includes a 1963 photostat of an 1884 Orleans Parish birth certificate for the child of a New Orleans druggist.
(ca. 1908-1963), (1 volume)

MSS 238 - Pontalbans Collection
Records concerning the founding and first year's activities of the Pontalbans, a New Orleans Women's Club. Consists of 1 bound volume entitled "History of the Pontalbans, 1931-32", containing minutes, historical notes, and related memorabilia.
(ca. 1931-1932), (1 volume)

MSS 239 - Gerard Pelletier Collection
Gerard Pelletier's printed mock-up of his Heroic Loyalty, a novel about the Acadians. Work contains considerable genealogical information on Acadians, and in particular, the Leblanc family in Canada and Louisiana. Also a correspondence file relating to acquisition of same.
(ca. 1986-1992), (.2 lin. ft.)

MSS 240 - Lessons Learned Collection
Records produced and compiled by Lyn Adams in the production of "Lessons Learned," a television documentary on the history of the New Orleans Public Schools, which aired January 15, 1992 on WYES-TV Channel 12, and thereafter regularly on Channel 48, the Educational Access channel of Cox Cable. Consists of 24 audiotapes and 78 videotapes together with transcriptions for same, and photocopies of related clippings, correspondence, school board minutes, essays and ancillary miscellany.
(ca. 1989-1992), (.2 lin. ft.)

MSS 241 - Theatre Playbills Collection
Fifty-one Playbills and programs for drama productions by adult amateur groups, professional companies, and public and parochial school students; productions held in the Crescent, Dauphine, Federal, St. Charles, and Tulane Theatres, Jerusalem Temple, Municipal Auditorium, La Petit Theatre du Vieux Carre, the auditoriums of Warren Easton and McMain High Schools, the auditoriums of St. Anthony, St. Matthias, and Sacred Heart Parochial Schools, and St. Joseph's Alumnae Hall. Many bear remnants of original scrapbook mounting.
(ca. 1917-1941), (51 items)

MSS 242 - Grevemberg/Carpenter Collection
Recorded interview of Francis C. Grevemberg by Albert E. Carpenter about Grevemberg's participation in the Battle of Anzio during World War II. Original reel-to-reel magnetic recording tape of interview, April 1956; copy cassette of same, November 17, 1992.
(ca. 1956), (1 item)

MSS 243 - Lois Brupbacher Collection
Miscellaneous files compiled in the preparation of a Tulane University Master of Liberal Arts thesis entitled "Examination of Some of the Factors That Influence the Development of Meaningful Involvement of Parents and the Community at Large in the Governance of Orleans Parish Public Schools." Pertains to the Lake Area Public School Improvement Association and the Rockefeller Community Development Program.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1970s-1893), (6 boxes)

MSS 244 - Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley Collection
Oral history project conducted with members of the local Hispanic community as well as Anglo New Orleanians who work with Hispanics. Includes materials which were donated to the University at the time of the interviews, as well as material collected by the interviewer on the local Hispanic community. Files on interviewees include photographs, correspondence, transcripts, miscellany. Some transcripts by University of New Orleans students were added ca. 1999.
(ca. 1986-1996), (4 lin. ft.)

MSS 245 - Crescent Council of Civic Associations Collection
Records of the Crescent Council of Civic Associations. Includes articles of incorporation, bylaws, membership lists, minutes, correspondence, clippings, topical files; legal briefs, surveys of political candidates and endorsements of same.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1956-1971), (1.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 246 - Number not assigned

MSS 247 - Vieux Carre Property Owners, Residents & Associates Collection
Records of a neighborhood preservation group in the Vieux Carre active in several battles over development in that area of New Orleans. Consists of correspondence; legal papers; minutes; newsletters; financial records; membership lists; and brochures and news clippings.
(ca. 1961-1991), (5.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 248 - Melrose Plantation Auction Tape
Recording of auction of contents of Melrose Plantation by Sanchez Antiques and Auction Galleries of New Orleans, June 6-7, 1970.
(ca. 1970), (2 cassette tapes)

MSS 249 - Marcus Christian Collection, Addendum 1
Typescript copies of New Orleans newspaper articles (n.d. and 1837-1941) on African Americans produced by members of the WPA's Federal Writers Program - Dillard Unit in late 1930s and early 1940s. Included are a few stray transcriptions of a later date.
(ca. 1930s-1954), (.4 lin. ft.)

MSS 250 - Martha Robertson Collection
Personal papers and records of New Orleans public school activist and League of Women Voters member Martha Robertson (November 12, 1926 - November 6, 1992.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), (9 lin. ft.)