Mark P. Lowrey Collection
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: 473 items
Geographic Locations: New Orleans, La.
Inclusive dates: 1965-1970
Summary: Correspondence, clippings, and documents produced and collected by Mark P. Lowrey during the New Orleans Riverfront Expressway and Interstate-310 controversy in which he was a leading spokesman opposing the project.
Related Collections: Suzanne L. Ormond Collection (Mss 59); Marta B. Lamar Collection (Mss 62); Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 1 (Mss 69); Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 2 (Mss 76); Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 3 (Mss 77); David L. Campbell Collection (Mss 123); Vieux Carre Property Owners, Residents & Associates Collection (Mss 247)
Source: Gift, 1998 (on deposit since 1974-1975)
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Mark P. Lowrey Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Mark P. Lowrey was an architect and planner with Lowrey-Hess-Boudreaux of New Orleans. He attended Tulane University School of Architecture from 1946 to 1951, and until 1952, he studied Urbanism at the Sorbonne in Paris under a Fulbright Grant. Mr. Lowrey practiced architecture in New Orleans and lived in the Vieux Carré from 1953 until his death.
In 1966 and 1967 Mr. Lowrey was president of the Vieux Carré Property Owners Association. He was Board Chairman of the Crescent Council of Civic Associations in 1969 and 1970. In 1965 with his brother, Walter Lowrey, he co-authored 912 Orleans Street: The Story of a Rescue.
To retain the original character of the collection, Mr. Lowrey's filing arrangement has been used.
Correspondence and Clippings.
47-1 Interstate-310, n.d., April 1965 - March 1969. 66 items
47-2 New Orleans Riverfront Expressway, n.d., November 1966 - March 1968. 118 items
New Orleans Riverfront Expressway.
47-3 Minutes of Public Expressway Hearing, June 16, 1966. 1 item
47-4 Letter and Congressional Record From U.S. Representative Hale Boggs, December 16, 1967. 2 items
47-5 Documents for Expressway Declaratory Judgment. 59 items
47-6 Crescent Council of Civic Associations (correspondence, clippings, and documents concerning New Orleans Riverfront Expressway), January 1965 - February 1970. 227 items
Crescent Council of Civic Associations
Lowrey, Mark P.
New Orleans Riverfront Expressway