English Research Guide: Historical/Primary Sources
Primary Resource Databases
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals CollectionThe fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
- 19th Century Periodicals (Marist College)A guide to 19th century periodicals, most of which are openly (freely) available.
- 19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
This database, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains almost 26,000 of the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. The collection includes more than one million pages of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
- Making of AmericaMaking of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- African American NewspapersAfrican American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Louisiana Historical NewspapersFull text of 71 Louisiana newspapers with years of coverage varying by title. Includes the Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985) and New Orleans Times-Picayune (1837-2017).
Individual Newspapers
- Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge), 1925-1985 (Readex Historical Newspapers) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheSearch across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- New York Times Archive (free)The New York Times offers two ways to view and interact with recent and archived articles. The Article Search, where you can search for and view recent and archived articles from 1851 to today, and the TimesMachine, a browser-based digital replica of all New York Times newspaper issues from 1851-2002.