Skip to Main Content

Archives and Inventories: 376-400

376 - 400

MSS 376 - FEMA - Orleans Parish Project Collection
Two identical sets of photographs, each containing 2,521 8 inches x 10 inches color photographs of residences in Orleans Parish (Louisiana) which were heavily damaged by Hurricanes Katrina (August 29, 2005) and/or Rita (September 23, 2005), and/or by subsequent flooding. These buildings were deemed a threat to health and safety by the City of New Orleans, which requested that FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) fund their demolition.
(ca. 2006-2010),
(8 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 377 - "Writing Katrina" (Spring 2007) Collection
Interviews with persons who experienced Hurricane Katrina (August 29, 2005) and/or its aftermath in the New Orleans area. Each interview file contains a transcript, related documentation, and CDs. The interviews were conducted by Eileen Guillory as an independent study under the supervision of Dr. Connie Z. Atkinson at the University of New Orleans during the Spring 2007 semester.
(ca. 2007),
(.2 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 379 - FEMA - YWCA of Greater New Orleans Collection
Materials (chiefly photographs by L. Hannah) from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) documenting extensive damage by Hurricane Katrina to the building at 6-1 South Jefferson David Parkway in New Orleans. This structure was the main building of the New Orleans Chapter of the YWCA (Young Women’s Christian Association.
(ca. 2010-2011),
(.2 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 380 - FEMA - Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures Collection
Materials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) documenting extensive damage by Hurricane Katrina to the Christian Community Youth Against Drugs (CCYAD) facilities at 3155 North Claiborne Avenue, 3211-13 North Robertson Street, and 3216 North Claiborne Avenue, all in New Orleans, Louisiana.
(ca. 2010),
(.2 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 381 - FEMA - Kingsley House Draft Report
Archaeological assessment of the area adjacent to Kingsley House, a settlement house located at 1600 Constance Street, New Orleans, Louisiana.

(ca. 2012),
(.1 lin. ft.)

Related Collections:

 

MSS 382 - FEMA - Enon Elementary School Recordation
Textual and photographic documentation from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recording Enon Elementary School, located at 14508 Highway 16, Enon, Washington Parish, Louisiana.
(ca. 2011-2012),
(.25 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 383 - FEMA - McDonogh 16 School (New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults) Collection
Textual and photographic documentation from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recording McDonogh No. 16 School, 1815 St. Claude Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.
(ca. 2010-2011),
(.2 lin. ft.)

Related Collections:

 

MSS 384 - FEMA - William Frantz School

Size: 0.2 l.f.

Dates: 2010

Comments: Photographs documenting the building post-Katrina

 

MSS 385 - Louisiana Land Trust

Size: 5 l.f.

Dates: 2007 - 2012

Comments: Photographs documenting parish-wide residential damage post-Katrina

 

MSS 386 - FEMA - Ursuline Academy

Size: 0.2 l.f.

Dates: 2011 - 2012

Comments: Photographs documenting the building post-Katrina

 

MSS 387 - Louis D. Armstrong Elementary School Recordation

Size: 0.2 l.f.

Dates: 2008-2012

Comments: Textual and photographic documentation from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recording Louis D. Armstrong Elementary School, 5909 St. Claude Avenue, New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana.

 

MSS 388 - FEMA Recordation Materials for Stabilization and Mothballing Morris F.X. Jeff Elementary School

Size: 0.2 l.f.

Dates: 2011

Comments: Photographic and textual documentation of Morris F.X. Jeff Elementary School (800 Rendon Street), New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana, from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

 

MSS 389 - FEMA - Recordation Materials for Stabilization and Mothballing, Valena C. Jones Elementary School

Size: 0.2 l.f.

Dates: 2011

Comments: Photographic and textual documentation of Valena C. Jones Elementary School (1901 North Galvez Street), New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana, from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

 

MSS 390 - FEMA - Israel Augustine Middle School
Size: 0.2 l.f.
Date: 2011

 

MSS 391 - FEMA - George O. Mondy Elementary School
Size: 0.2 l.f.
Date: 2011

 

MSS 392 - FEMA - John A. Shaw Elementary School
Size: 0.2l.f.
Date: 2011

 

MSS 393 - FEMA - Demolition of Thomy Lafon Elementary School

Size: 3.0 l.f.

Dates: 2010-2011

Contents: Photographic and textual documentation of Thomy Lafon Elementary School, 2601 Seventh Street, New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana, from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

 

MSS 394 - FEMA - Historic Context Statement for New Orleans Public Schools
Size: 0.1 l.f.
Date: 2011

 

MSS 395 - FEMA - Results of Phases 1-3 Archeological Monitoring of Debris Removal Activities in Archeologically Sensitive Waterways, Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, Terrebonne, Vermilion, and Iberia Parishes, Louisiana (Final Report)

Size: 0.2 l.f.

Dates: 2012

Contents: Textual and photographic documentation from the site located at 2220 Napoleon Avenue, New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana.

 

MSS 396 - FEMA - Draft Phase I Investigation of Site 16OR01, 2200 Napoleon Avenue…
Size: 0.1 l.f.
Date: 2012

 

MSS 397 - FEMA - Joseph Maumus Art Center
Size: 0.2 l.f.
Date: 2011

 

MSS 398 - FEMA - Wesley Barrow Stadium
Size: 0.2 l.f.
Date: 2011

 

MSS 399 - Frank B. Moore Photograph
Size: 0.1 l.f.
Date: ca. 1900-1902

 

MSS 400 - The Knowles Family Collection of Postcards, Addendum 1

Size: 0.2 l.f. (37 postcards)

Dates: 20th Century

Contents: An addition of 37 postcards to the larger collection of Louisiana views previously donated by the Knowles family.  The initial collection was assembled by Mrs. Knowles’s mother, JoAnn Baxter Zeisel.

Related Collections:

  • Knowles Family Collection of Postcards (Mss 355);
  • Aleman Family (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection (Mss 45);
  • René Grandjean Collection (Mss 85); Postcards Collection (Mss 93);
  • also, isolated postcards in larger collections