Archives and Inventories: 526-550
526 - 550
MSS 526 - FEMA - St. Roch Neighborhood Drainage Upgrades and Green Infrastructure
MSS 527 - Bill Borah Collection
MSS 528 -
MSS 529 - Ronald Skaggs Collection
MSS 530 - Fromherz Engineers Collection
MSS 531 - Richard "Nason" Smith Collection
MSS 532 -
MSS 534 - FEMA - Thomas J. Semmes School
MSS 535 - Anna "Nancy" O'Donnell Simoneaux Collection
MSS 536 - New Orleans Workers Group Workers Voice Collection
MSS 537 - Robert N. Perry III
MSS 539 United Teachers of New Orleans, Local 527 Addendum #2
MSS 539 - Harry N. Deyo Collection
MSS 540 - FEMA – Recordation materials for 3100 Octavia Street, 3101 Jefferson Avenue, 3300 Nashville Avenue, 3304 Nashville Avenue, 4320 South Roman Street, and 4929 S. Galvez Street
MSS 541 - FEMA – Recordation materials for 3239 Octavia Street, 3420 Jefferson Avenue, and 3844 Napoleon Avenue
MSS 542 - Spedale Family Newspapers and Magazines Collection
MSS 543 - FEMA – Recordation materials for 4308 S. Johnson Street and 5410 S. Galvez Street
MSS 544 - FEMA – Recordation materials for 3216 Upperline Street, 3720 Napoleon Avenue, 4415-4417 S. Tonti Street, 4509 S. Tonti Street, and 4515 S Prieur Street
MSS 545 - FEMA- Recordation materials for 3235 Jefferson Avenue
MSS 546 - FEMA – Recordation materials for House of Detention, 2735 Perdido Street
MSS 547 - Civil Air Patrol - Louisiana Wing
Civil Air Patrol - LOUISIANA WING
(Mss 547)
Inventory
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Processed April 2023
Contents
Summary
Biographical Note
Series List
Container List
Index Terms
Procedures for Requesting Special Collections Materials
Summary
Size: Approximately .5 linear feet (1 box)
Geographic locations: New Orleans, Louisiana
Inclusive dates: 1941-2022
Summary: Correspondence and papers relating to the Louisiana Wing Civil Air Patrol from Colin B. Hamer and Albert St. Pierre.
Related collections: MSS 129 - Military Order of the World Wars, New Orleans Chapter Collection; MSS 218 - Eisenhower Center D-Day Collection
Source: Gift.
Access: No restrictions.
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Civil Air Patrol - Louisiana Wing Collection, (MSS 547), University of New Orleans Archives, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Historical Note
"The Civil Air Patrol (CAP) provides an organization to aid United States citizens through voluntary contribution of their efforts, services, and resources for the maintenance of aerospace education and to assist in meeting local, state, and national emergencies, particularly air search and rescue, and disaster relief. Since the Civil Air Patrol’s formation during the earliest days of World War II, this vigilant organization of citizen airmen has been committed to service to America. Founded on December 1, 1941, to mobilize the nation's civilian aviation resources for national defense service, CAP has evolved into a premier public service organization that still carries out emergency service missions when needed — in the air and on the ground.” (Maine State Government Annual Report 2016-2017)
“More than 2,000 volunteers made up the CAP during World War II, including pilots, mechanics, doctors, homemakers, and clerks who gave freely of their time and resources. They used their own planes, tools, and radios and donated spare parts to keep everything running. In total, CAP Coastal Patrol aircrews spotted U-boats 173 times and made 57 attacks on them. They reported 91 ships in distress and 363 survivors of U-boat attacks. Twenty-six CAP volunteers lost their lives and ninety Coastal Patrol aircraft were lost”. (Picayune-Advocate 2022)
In Louisiana, the CAP was first organized out of the New Orleans Airport on the lakefront but later moved to Grand Isle as the first operational base on the Gulf Coast. Members of this coastal base were called the "Fighting Nine," and they were experienced at spotting injured crews and passengers of torpedoed ships clinging for life in the unpredictable waters of the Gulf. (Crist, 2009)
Post-World War II, CAP was converted into a federally chartered corporation that focused its efforts on three core programs – Cadet Programs, Emergency Services, and Aerospace Education. (Civil Air Patrol, 2013)
Citations:
Christ , C. J. (2009, March 30). Grand Isle had an important role during World War II. Houma Today. Retrieved April 4, 2024, from https://www.houmatoday.com/story/entertainment/2009/03/30/grand-isle-had-an-important-role-during-world-war-ii/26785281007/.
Civil Air Patrol, US Airforce Auxillary. (2013). Legal Basis for the Civil Air Patrol. Montgomery, AL; Civil Air Patrol.
Maine State Archives. (n.d.). Maine State Government Annual Report 2016-2017. Civil Air Patrol, 1941 - 2018 | Maine State Archives - ArchivesSpace. https://archives.maine.gov/repositories/3/archival_objects/277165
Picayune-Advocate Staff. (2022, June 27). St. Tammany Civil Air Patrol members honor one of their own. The Times-Picayune/The New Orleans Advocate. Retrieved April 24, 2024, from https://www.nola.com/news/communities/st_tammany/st-tammany-civil-air-patrol-members-honor-one-of-their-own/article_a81f0212-ed11-11ec-8dcb-036f9fe45248.html.
Wikimedia Foundation. (2024, April 25). Civil Air Patrol. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_Air_Patrol
Series List
Series I. Colin B. Hamer
Subseries I.1. Administrative and biographical information
Subseries I.2. Awards and award correspondence
Subseries I.3. Newspaper clippings
Subseries I.3. PBS Frontline Interview on Lee Harvey Oswald who was in the CAP
Series II. Albert St. Pierre
Subseries II.1. Photocopies of memos, correspondence, and awards from the Louisiana Wing
Series II. Supplemental Material
Subseries III.1. Supplemental Research Material, Newspaper Articles, etc.
Container List
Folder 1
Series I. Administrative and biographical information
Folder 2
Subseries I.2. Awards and award correspondence
Folder 3
Subseries I.3. Newspaper clippings
Folder 4
Subseries I.3. PBS Frontline Interview on Lee Harvey Oswald
Folder 5
Subseries II.1. Photocopies of memos, correspondence, and awards from the Louisiana Wing
Folder 6
Supplemental Research Material, Newspaper Articles, etc.
MSS 548 - John D. and Jean Funck Person Collection
MSS 548 - Theta Kappa of Delta Zeta House Corporation Collection
MSS 550 - Elise Cerniglia Collection