Skip to main content

Archives and Inventories: 026 - 050

026-050

MSS 026 - Ralph N. Vinson Collection

Original cartoons created by Ralph N. Vinson and published in the New Orleans States-Item. The collection also contains a few unidentified cartoons and seven cartoons by an artist named Condon.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1964-1971), (1,411 items.)
Related Collections: MSS 308 - Homer Hitt Collection of Editorial Cartoons

MSS 027 - Thomas F. Harwood Collection

Papers of Thomas J. Harwood (1918-1971), professor of history.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), (6 lin. ft.)

MSS 028 - National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, New Orleans Branch

Records of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, New Orleans Branch.
(ca. 1928-1971), (67 lin. ft.)
Related Collections: MSS 055 - National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, New Orleans Branch, Addendum 1

MSS 185 - National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, New Orleans Branch, Addendum 2

MSS 029 - Operative Plasterers and Cement Masons International Association of the United States and Canada, Local No. 93 Collection

Records of Operative Plasterers' and Cement Masons' International Association of the United States and Canada, Local No. 93. Consists mainly of applications, cashbooks, checkbooks, correspondence, journals, minutes, receipts, reports, bank statements, and cancelled checks.
(ca. 1924-1968), (26 lin. ft.)
Related Collections: MSS 024 - Operative Plasterers and Cement Finishers International Association of the United States and Canada, Local No. 93 Collection

MSS 030 - Knights of Peter Claver, Father John A. Clarke Council No. 29

Records of Knights of Peter Claver, Father John A. Clarke Council No. 29, including roll calls, resolutions, and minutes.
(ca. 1929-1938), (2 items.)

MSS 031 - Societe des Francs-Amis Collection

Records and memorabilia of the Societe des Francs-Amis, a Black Creole fraternal organization of New Orleans.
(ca. 1907-1926), (4 items.)
Related Collections: MSS 025 - Societe des Jeunes Amis Collection

MSS 032 - French Market Corporation Collection

No longer available transferred to New Orleans Public Library.

MSS 033 - Weiblen Memorials Collection

Records of a marble and granite business, consisting mainly of advertising catalogues, correspondence, plans and renderings, photographs, cost, price, inventory and sales records, purchase agreements, and bank, insurance, payroll and tax records.
(ca. 1915-1972), (15 lin. ft.)

Related Collections:

MSS 288 - Weiblen Memorials Collection, Addendum 1

MSS 034 - Community Services Council of New Orleans, Inc. Collection

Through the combined efforts of the New Orleans Association of Commerce and several private local service agencies, the Central Council of Social Agencies was organized in 1921 to provide uniform standards and practices that would, in turn, result in greater cooperation among its member agencies. During its existence (1921-1973), the Council underwent several changes in organization and in name. Beginning in 1924, it was listed in reports and in correspondence as the Central Council of Social Agencies and as the Council of Social Agencies. In 1958 the name was changed to Social Welfare Planning Council and in 1971 to Community Services Council, Inc. Materials in the collection have been placed in series under the existing agency name when the documents were generated. Separate series have been created for member agencies and subject files.
(ca. 1900-1973), (90 lin. ft.)
Related Collections: MSS 044 - Community Services Council of Jefferson Collection

MSS 035 - Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod, Southern District Collection

Records and papers of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod, Southern District. Church records and genealogical data are not included.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), (117 lin. ft.)

MSS (036, 063, 070, 075, & 100) - Ben C. Toledano Collections

A collectors miscellany, mainly of literary related material.
(ca. 1940s-1960s), ( lin. ft.)

MSS 037 - Ben C. Toledano Collection

No longer available, removed by depositor.

MSS 038 - Paul Morand Collection

French novel by Paul Morand (Maggie Noire) containing a manuscript letter attachment (1 piece) dated September 20, 1928, written by the author.
(ca. 1928), (1 volume.)

MSS 039 - James Bezou Collection

Records, papers, and memorabilia of the Athenee Louisianais, France-Amerique; and L'Union Francaise produced by James Bezou.
(ca. 1952-1957, 1971), (3 folders.)
Related Collections:

  • MSS 016 - Athenee Louisianais Collection
  • MSS 020 - Bezou France-Amerique Collection
  • MSS 042 - James Bezou Collection

MSS 040 - American Association of University Professors, LSUNO Chapter Collection

Records and papers of the American Association of University Professors, L.S.U.N.O. Chapter.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1958-1972), ( lin. ft.)

MSS 041 - New Orleans Printing Pressmen's Union, Local No. 26 Collection

Records of New Orleans Printing Pressmen's Union, Local No. 26. Consists mainly of correspondence and miscellaneous items including agreements, weekly wage scales, clippings, and minutes of the Union Printing Pressmen Boosters, an organization within Local 26.
(ca. 1920-1973), (1.5 lin. ft.)

MSS 042 - James Bezou Collection

Records, papers, and memorabilia of the Athenee Louisianais, and France-Amerique.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), (1 box.)
Related Collections:

  • MSS 016 - Athene Louisianais Collection
  • MSS 020 - Bezou France-Amerique Collection
  • MSS 039 - James Bezou Collection

MSS 043 - Maximillian J. Herzberger Lecture Tapes

Tape recordings of Dr. Herzbergers physics lectures at (LS)UNO.
(ca. 1970s), (7 items.)
Related Collections:

MSS 159 - Unversity of New Orleans Archives

MSS 044 - Community Services Council of Jefferson Collection

Records of a volunteer, non-profit organization devoted to studying and planning social services for Jefferson Parish, Louisiana. Consists of correspondence; minutes; newsletters; annual reports; office records; and similar records for allied organizations.
(ca. 1939-1973), (12.5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

  • MSS 034 - Community Services Council of New Orleans
  • MSS 184 - Bureau of Governmental Research

MSS 045 - Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection

Postcards depicting scenes of New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Covington, La.; the Mississippi Gulf Coast; and various cities in the United States and Canada. Also, holiday greeting postcards and other subjects.
(ca. 1903-1915), (71 items.)

MSS 046 - Orleans Gallery Collection

The Orleans Gallery was founded in 1956 by a small group of New Orleans artists. A non-profit, community-oriented gallery, its objective was to foster contemporary art in New Orleans and to make other cities aware of New Orleans as a creative art and cultural center. The gallery displayed and made available for purchase the works of its permanent exhibiting artists. In addition, it exhibited the works of guest artists, student artists, and artists of national and international renown. Financial difficulties forced the Gallery to close in 1972.
(ca. 1956-1972), (11 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

  • MSS 054 - Johnson-Orleans Gallery Collection
  • MSS 167 - Boothby-Orleans Gallery Collection

MSS 047 - Mark P. Lowrey Collection

Correspondence, clippings, and documents produced and collected by Mark P. Lowrey during the New Orleans Riverfront Expressway and Interstate-310 controversy in which he was a leading spokesman opposing the project.
(ca. 1965-1970), (473 items.)
Related Collections:

  • MSS 059 - Suzanne L. Ormond Collection
  • MSS 062 - Marta B. Lamar Collection
  • MSS 069 - Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 1
  • MSS 076 - Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 2
  • MSS 077 - Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 3
  • MSS 123 - David L. Campbell Collection
  • MSS 247 - Vieux Carre Property Owners, Residents & Associates Collection

MSS 048 - Monnot / Lanier Family Collection

Business and personal records, papers, and memorabilia of the Monnot / Lanier Family and its sugar plantation, Elmfield, in Assumption Parish, La. Consists mainly of bills and receipts, cane weight journals, clippings, correspondence, commission merchant statements, contracts, land and slave deeds, maps, miscellaneous account books, oaths of allegiance, payroll records, photographs, promissory notes, school records, financial statements, succession documents, and tax records. The bulk of the material up to about 1860 is in French, and thereafter in English.
(ca. 1821-1958), (5 items.)

MSS 049 - New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17 Collection

Bank deposit books; constitution, bylaws, and minutes; convention proceedings; union contracts; union histories; ledger book; publications; miscellaneous items.
(ca. 1852-1957), (64 items.)
Related Collections:

MSS 096 - New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17 Collection, Addendum 1

MSS 050 - Abrom Kaplan Collection

No longer available, removed by depositor.