A-Z and Subject Databases: A

Abstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting service in the field of anthropology, abstracting articles from several hundred periodicals, with coverage back to 1999. The database covers all anthropological subfields: cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. The abstracted articles include subcultures within industrialized nations and track social welfare issues, drug abuse programs, geriatric caregiver issues, and applied anthropology.

This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content readily available for researchers of gerontology. Those interested in the field of geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes bibliographic records covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to geriatric studies.

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.

A half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception. The ACM Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, but no full-text articles. Articles not available in the UNO Library can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

This collection features periodicals that were primarily used as advertising vehicles. Print became an increasingly popular medium for marketing and promotion as printing technologies became more efficient and more affordable. Advertising periodicals appeared in large cities and small towns alike, creating a wide commercial geography as the United States expanded west. The titles here show the various kinds of goods and services that were available to consumers and how retailers marketed them. Subjects include medicine, fashion, business, industry, agriculture, books, literature, abolition, and publishing.

Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.

Earliest issue: July 19, 1925
Latest issue: December 31, 1985
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.

In addition to Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985), includes some years of the Daily Advocate, Daily State, and State Times Advocate. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.

African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

This bibliographic database provides more than 2.5 million citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Coverage for this database dates back to 1979. AGRICOLA offers a variety of source types related to agriculture

The Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S. 1789-1879 collection focuses on publications about farming-related activities in the 19th century. Because most Americans still lived on farms, and because agriculture remained the country's leading industry throughout the century, literature about agricultural development -- from raising crops and keeping bees to caring for livestock and erecting farm structures -- was extremely important. These publications contain rich content, including architectural plans for farmhouses and outbuildings, advertisements for fertilizer dealers and makers of farm equipment, recipes and advice for farm women, instructions for performing one's own medical and veterinary treatments, records of the latest technological and agricultural developments, reports from agricultural fairs, and more. Not surprisingly, regional periodicals were especially popular, adapted to the particular climates and soil conditions of the area. This collection contains periodicals published along the east coast and New England; representative titles are: the New York Farmer and Horticultural Repository, the Vermont Cultivator, the Northern Farmer, the Philadelphia Florist, and the Maine Farmer.

The Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878 focuses on agriculture during the 19th century. As most Americans still lived on farms and agriculture was the country's leading industry throughout the century, literature about agricultural development -- from raising crops and keeping bees to caring for livestock and erecting farm structures -- was extremely important. These magazines contain rich content, including advertisements for fertilizer dealers and makers of farm equipment, recipes and advice for farm women, instructions for performing one's own medical and veterinary treatments, records of the latest technological and agricultural developments, reports from agricultural fairs, and more. Not surprisingly, regional periodicals were especially popular, adapted to the particular climates and soil conditions of the area. This collection contains periodicals published in the West, Midwest, and South; representative titles are: Oregon Cultivator, the Southern Ruralist and Horticultural Intelligencer, the Georgia Grange, the Nebraska Farmer, the Rural Carolinian, the North Western Prairie Farmer, the Ohio Valley Farmer, the Cherokee Agriculturist, the Colorado Farmer and Live Stock Journal, the Spirit of Arkansas, the Farmers' Journal, Transactions of the Lower Canada Board of Agriculture, and the California Horticulturist and Floral Magazine.

This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.

Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.

The Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878 collection represents the origins and rapid growth of innovative religious belief and expression in nineteenth-century America. Often, these faiths found expression outside of the more traditional doctrinal and ecclesial boundaries. This collection of periodicals is focused on titles that reflect this spiritual seeking as it was expressed in alternative forms of worship and belief. Subjects include Spiritualism, Universalism, astrology, communes, free thought, and rationalism.

The collection Alternative Medicine and Health, 1810-1877 presents periodicals dedicated to the concept of healthy living and alternative medicines. Herbal guides such as the Eclectic and Medical Botanist and patent medicine circulars such as Fancher's Voice of General Intelligence are included here. Changing views on health, hygiene, and fitness are found in publications such as Lewis' New Gymnastics for Ladies, Gentlemen, and Children and the Boston Journal of Physical Culture, The Journal of Health, and the Domestic Medical and Dietetical Monitor or Journal of Health. The variety of alternative health options are extensive, exploring such movements as electrology, homeopathy, hydrotherapy, magnetism, phrenology, and Thomsonian medicine; they were represented in journals such as the Water Cure Journal and Teacher of Health, the Homoeopathic Journal of Materia Medica, Chemistry, and Pharmacology, and Fowler's Journal of Life Health Man and Phrenology.

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Earliest issue: July 19, 1925
Latest issue: December 31, 1985
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.

Includes 44 general and specialized news magazines, with varying dates of coverage, generally from the last 20-30 years.

America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (For coverage of non North American history see Historical Abstracts). AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American histo

The American Civil War, 1855-1868 collection consists of periodicals that span the immediate years before the Civil War to the beginnings of Reconstruction. Significantly, this collection contains a number of long-running periodicals that chronicle the war from various perspectives, such as Harper's Weekly and the Atlantic Monthly. Less conventional titles can also be found in this collection, such as the Millennial Harbinger and Gleason's Literary Companion. Additionally, this collection contains a number of abolitionist and secessionist titles that led up to the war and record veterans' remembrances afterwards. Together these periodicals paint a dynamic picture of a scarring conflict that deeply affected all aspects of American society.

This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.

The American Hospital Directory provides online data for over 6,000 hospitals. The database of information is built from Medicare claims data, cost reports, and other public use files obtained from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

The American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834 collection encapsulates the higher forms of literature and literary criticism. The work of many notable writers can be found here, including early pieces by Washington Irving and Charles Brockden Brown, among others. These periodicals and the authors who contributed to them catalyzed the beginning of distinctly American literary movements that marked a sharp break from European literary traditions. Within these pages, researchers will find rich material that not only provides insight into a developing literary canon but a radically changing American society as a whole. Representative titles include the Knickerbocker, the New York Magazine or Literary Repository, and the Monthly Anthology and Boston Review. Additionally, a few reprints of European titles are included to give scholars both a broader context and a perspective on residual European influences. These particular titles include New York editions of the Edinburgh Review or Critical Journal and the Quarterly Review.

The American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858 collection represents the higher forms of literature and literary criticism. Many of America's most famous 19th-century writers found their start and, in many cases, their livelihoods, by writing for these periodicals. Notables range from James Fenimore Cooper to Edgar Allen Poe. Their work appeared in a several periodicals devoted to literature and the arts, such as the New York Mirror, and more general publications like Putnam's Monthly and Ralph Waldo Emerson's Massachusetts Quarterly Review. Researchers will find literature broad in scope and rich in depth in this sweeping collection.

The American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891 collection represents the higher forms of literature and literary criticism, focusing on the late nineteenth Century. Many of the most important figures in American literature found their start and, in many cases, earned their livelihoods, through their writing for these periodicals. Notables authors include Mark Twain and Walt Whitman as they published in the definitive literary periodicals of their age such as Lippincott's Magazine, the Galaxy, the Ladies Repository, and Littell's Living Age. Taken together, this collection provides scholars with a well-rounded representation of late 19th-century American Literature.

The American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877 collection contains publications focused on professional medical thought, including dental practice, during the nineteenth century. Including detailed illustrations and diagrams using what were at the time state-of-the-art printing techniques, these journals chronicle the development of medical and surgical techniques over time. Surgery titles were published across the country, and include the Civil War-era Confederate States Medical & Surgical Journal and the Pacific Medical and Surgical Journal. General practice is covered in such journals as the Richmond and Louisville Medical Journal and Bulletin of Medical Science. Periodicals devoted to medical specialties and specific diseases include the American Journal of Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children, the Journal of Psychological Medicine, and the Cholera Gazette. Medical societies are represented by titles such as the New Jersey Medical Reporter and Transactions of the New Jersey Medical Society. Twenty-three titles here are devoted to dentistry exclusively, including the New York Dental Recorder.

The American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884 collection chronicles the prevailing social, religious, political, and benevolent movements of the day. Represented here are the publications of, among others, the anarchists (the Periodical Letter) and the communists (Oneida Circular, the Rational Review, and the Communist). In addition, periodicals published by those espousing rights for workingmen are included (such as the Voice of Labor, the Reformer, or Advocate of Industrial Association, Workingman's Advocate, and the Radical), in addition to publications for immigrants (the Irish Volunteer, the Jewish Times, Der Arbeiter, the People's Friend, the Impartial Examiner and Advocate of Liberty Civil and Religious), and for "native" Americans (the Republican, the Anti-Romanist). Also to be found here are periodicals pertaining to various social movements from early women's rights periodicals (the Women's Journal, the Revolution) to periodicals promoting language reform and phonetics. Together, they tell the story of American society and politics from diverse perspectives, giving voice to the established and powerful as well as to the disenfranchised and subversive.

The American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891 collection chronicles the key political issues and movements of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. They cover a range of political affiliations, from republicans to radicals, confederates to communists. Content is similarly diverse, and includes satire and political cartoons, with titles such as the Cartoon and the John Donkey; literary publications like the Socialist, the Reflector and Liberal Advocate, the Political Register, the Democratic Monthly and Western Review, and the Union Monthly Magazine. In addition, issues-focused publications such as Davis' Battle-Axe, the National Register, Kendall's Expositor, and Brownson's Quarterly Review can also be found here.

An index to anthropological Journals (1960s-)

AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline.

This database includes more than 360 full-text periodicals (40 more than Art Full Text); 220 full-text books (not in Art Full Text); Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books; and A collection of over 63,000 images.

A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present.

Open access to 646,802 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. (Cornell University)

An open access subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously. A comprehensive list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the Historical Index of AULIMP titles.