A-Z and Subject Databases: Women's Studies
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
Women's Studies Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge), 1925-1985 (Readex Historical Newspapers) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheSearch across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge) Historical Archives, 1845-1991 (Newsbank) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheIn addition to Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985), includes some years of the Daily Advocate, Daily State, and State Times Advocate. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate, The (Baton Rouge) America's Historical Newspapers 20th Century also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheEarliest issue: July 19, 1925
Latest issue: December 31, 1985
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing. - America's News MagazinesIncludes 44 general and specialized news magazines, with varying dates of coverage, generally from the last 20-30 years.
- Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Louisiana Historical NewspapersFull text of 71 Louisiana newspapers with years of coverage varying by title. Includes the Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985) and New Orleans Times-Picayune (1837-2017).
- Newsbank Combined SearchIncludes the Times-Picayune (1837-present), Baton Rouge Advocate (1845-1991), Hispanic Life in America, Black Life in America, and America’s News Magazines
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - Social Science Citation IndexThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- Social Science Research NetworkDevoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThis product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
- Times-Picayune (1989-2019) - text onlyFull text content of the New Orleans, LA Times-Picayune newspaper.
This is the text only view of the newspaper. Content no longer added after June 30, 2019. Please go to Times-Picayune/New Orleans Advocate page images (2017-present for current content.. - Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune with Historical Archives, 1837-present (Newsbank)Also includes the Weekly Times-Picayune (1914-1918). Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Women and Social MovementsThis website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. It currently includes 79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, more
- Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844The Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 comprises of one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals that span the 18th through the 19th century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication. This series draws heavily from the Colonial through the Jacksonian Era, spanning roughly from the 1730's-1840's. Because almost all of the women's periodicals by nature covered many topics, the titles included in this collection highlight radically changing perceptions of womanhood and ideas about the role of women over time. Some representative titles are: the Lady's Monthly Museum or Polite Repository of Amusement and Instruction, the Ladies' Companion, the Lady's Book, and Margret Fuller's Transcendentalist publication, the Dial.
- Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. Spanning the antebellum and Civil War eras, this group represents a broad range of subjects and places of publication, reflective of the turbulent yet optimistic years of Westward expansion and war. Drawing heavily from the temperance and abolition movements, this collection includes a number of female authors and publishers who helped to cement the foundations of women's active role in American social and religious movements. Notable long-running publications include Dickens' Household Words and Valuable Whispers, Godey's Lady's Book, the Ladies Repository, and Peterson's Magazine.
- Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. These titles span the later part of the nineteenth century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication, from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North. Taken together, they allow scholars to focus on how women in particular struggled to recover from the Civil War during the years of Reconstruction. A few representative titles include Harper's Bazaar, the Southern Review, and Harriet Beecher Stowe's Hearth and Home. The Agitator, the True Woman, and the Woman's Advocate are a few examples of the women's political magazines that can also be found here.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.