A-Z and Subject Databases: History
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
History Databases
- Subject Help in HistoryNeed help researching a topic in history? Check out this subject guide!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge), 1925-1985 (Readex Historical Newspapers) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheSearch across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge) Historical Archives, 1845-1991 (Newsbank) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheIn addition to Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985), includes some years of the Daily Advocate, Daily State, and State Times Advocate. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate, The (Baton Rouge) America's Historical Newspapers 20th Century also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheEarliest issue: July 19, 1925
Latest issue: December 31, 1985
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing. - African American NewspapersAfrican American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- America's News MagazinesIncludes 44 general and specialized news magazines, with varying dates of coverage, generally from the last 20-30 years.
- America: History and Life with Full TextAmerica: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (For coverage of non North American history see Historical Abstracts). AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American histo
- Black Life in AmericaComprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day
Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Updated daily
Series I - 1704 - 1877
Series II - 1878 - 1975 - Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
- Ebook Central by ProQuestThe Library provides access to over 200 electronic books from Ebrary, covering a variety of disciplines
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, EBSCO Publishing created a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Historical Abstracts with full textHistorical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities, including article abstracts, and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered by America: History and Life. Provides indexing of more than 2000 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Includes links to full-text articles. Also includes 259 active full-text, non-open access journals not available in any version of EBSCO Academic Search.
- History Reference CenterThis database features full text for more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).
- LOUISiana Digital LibraryThis site, maintained by the LOUIS Louisiana Library Network, collects digital objects from universities, museums, and research centers throughout the state and offers them in one searchable location.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source provides full text for more than 1,200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; more than 40 news magazines, news from more than 130 newswires, more than 77 million full-text articles, and more than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus brings critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day with its News View feature. News View also includes television and radio news transcripts from top sources. See More info for details. - Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsSanborn Fire Insurance Maps—originally created as a product to help insurance companies assess the potential risks involved in underwriting policies—have developed into a tool with myriad uses for multiple industries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance maps typically include the following information:
■ Building addresses
■ Building height
■ Building footprints
■ Street names
■ Number of stories per building
■ Building construction materials
■ Building use
■ Right of way - Social Science Citation IndexThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- Social Science Research NetworkDevoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThis product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
- Times-Picayune (1989-2019) - text onlyFull text content of the New Orleans, LA Times-Picayune newspaper.
This is the text only view of the newspaper. Content no longer added after June 30, 2019. Please go to Times-Picayune/New Orleans Advocate page images (2017-present for current content.. - Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune with Historical Archives, 1837-present (Newsbank)Also includes the Weekly Times-Picayune (1914-1918). Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- U.S. Hearings - UNO Digital CollectionThis collection is comprised of U.S. Senate and House hearings and publications that have been digitized by the Earl K. Long Library. We are currently digitizing non-microform hearings that are cataloged in our OPAC and published prior to 1990. This may change as the project progresses. Currently, there are 101 hearings in the collection.
- Women and Social MovementsThis website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. It currently includes 79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, more
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.