It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: Education
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
The Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885 collection focuses on the long and rich history of education in the United States. The titles found here reflect a broad range of pedagogical methods as they changed over time, and encompass teaching in the classrooms of public and private schools alike. Also included here are titles dedicated to teaching in college, teaching trades and professional skills, teaching English grammar and foreign languages, and more. National and state education is represented in titles such as the Journal of Progress in Education and Social Improvement, the Popular Educator, the Common School and Iowa Journal of Education, and the Maine Common School Advocate. Business school publications include Eastman's State and National Business College, and Bryant, Stratton & Bell's Peoria, Illinois Business College Monthly. Titles dedicated to the trades include the Penman and Accountant, the Phonographic Comet, the Southern Workman: Devoted to the Industrial Classes of the South, and the American Polytechnic Journal. Specialized publications, such as the Gallaudet Guide and Deaf Mutes Companion, the Polyglot, Amerikanische Schulzeitung, Comstock's Phonetic Magazine, the Mnemonical Magazine, and De Fonetic Propagandist demonstrate the diversity of titles in this collection.
The College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877 collection captures a broad view of the events, humor, and lifestyle of campuses around the country, and provides researchers with a better understanding of popular culture through the eyes of its younger members. Many youth in nineteenth-century America engaged in academics, and they enjoyed sharing their activities and the emerging talents they developed at school with their fellow students and teachers. Included here are college student titles from the northeast, such as: the Vassar Miscellany and the Trinity Tablet; from the South: the Hermathenian and Journal of the Virginia Collegiate Institute and the Georgia University Magazine; from the Midwest: the Eureka College Vidette and the Notre Dame Scholastic; and from the West Coast: the Berkeleyan and the Napa Classic. The collection also includes titles featuring schools' literary efforts, such as the Hamilton Literary Monthly, the Rutgers Literary Miscellany, and Centre College Magazine: Devoted to Literature. In addition, diverse types of schools are represented here, including technical colleges, military academies, and business schools. A number of publications were largely written by and for women, such as the Pactolus, the Parethenian or Young Ladies Magazine, and the Sunbeam.
Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861.
Over two million dissertations and theses are available from the UMI vaults on microfilm or in hardcopy, and researchers can preview many recent titles electronically. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, more than 750,000 are available for download in PDF format.
This research database includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
Access to the full text of most ERIC Documents. ERIC is a nationwide information network sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
NOTE from the Dept. of Education (2013) -- The full text of all peer-reviewed articles and of all articles published after 2005 is released, as are the articles released through the scanning process (published prior to 2005). While we transition to a new website, users will not be able to request that PDFs be restored or submit documents for inclusion in ERIC. We will work to restore these features as soon as possible, by September (2013) at the latest. However, during this period, the PDF restoration process will continue behind the scenes.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Need help using this resource? Go to http://help.heinonline.org to access training guides, videos, and more.
This database trial ends October 31, 2018.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals in various disciplines. It attempts to maintain complete journal holdings from the first volume, but current volumes (from the past three to six years) are not included.
This is an upgrade from MAS Ultra School Edition. Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for over 570 popular high school magazines with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Complete has nearly 420 full text reference books, nearly 117,000 biographies, 73,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 1.6 million photos, maps and flags.
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
• More than 2,300 full-text magazines and journals
• More than 870 full-text reference books
• More than 73,000 full-text primary source documents
• More than 1.6 million photos, maps and flags
• More than 70,000 videos from the Associated Press (AP)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
The Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889 presents the happenings from the 18th and 19th centuries when lyceums, athenaeums, and universities sprung up across the United States as Americans began to educate themselves as never before. The titles in this collection draw heavily from these institutions and address the pursuit of the sciences, history and the arts. Notable publications in this collection include Benjamin Franklin's the General Magazine and Historical Chronicle for All the British Plantations in America (Philadelphia, PA), Benjamin Mecom's the New England Magazine (Boston, MA) and Frank Leslie's New York Journal of Romance, General Literature, Science, and Art (New York, NY). Scholars using this collection will gain an appreciation for how 18th and 19th Century Americans chose to educate themselves.
Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
This collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
This database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.