A-Z and Subject Databases: M

This is an upgrade from MAS Ultra School Edition. Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for over 570 popular high school magazines with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Complete has nearly 420 full text reference books, nearly 117,000 biographies, 73,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 1.6 million photos, maps and flags.

Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877 represents the nineteenth-century Americans, primarily men who organized themselves into various societies loosely based on ethnic, social, or political affiliation. This collection focuses on friendly and fraternal societies -- primarily, but not exclusively the masons. Indicative of the popularity of these various organizations, affiliated publications emerged across the country: the Masonic Journal (Marietta, GA), the Masonic Trowel (Springfield, IL), the Masonic Token (Portland, ME), Iris and Odd Fellows' Mirror (Baltimore, MD), the Patron's Helper and Grange Instructor (Des Moines, IA), the Odd Fellows' Banner and Literary Companion (Bloomfield, IA), the New Weekly Messenger and Odd Fellows Advertiser (New York, NY), and New Age (San Francisco, CA).

MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
• More than 2,300 full-text magazines and journals
• More than 870 full-text reference books
• More than 73,000 full-text primary source documents
• More than 1.6 million photos, maps and flags
• More than 70,000 videos from the Associated Press (AP)

Glossary of Electrical Engineering Terms

MedicaLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

GPO federated search tool for retrieving U.S. Government Publications (reports, articles, and citations) by simultaneously searching across approximately 53 Federal Government databases.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

The Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877 collection consists of publications pertaining to the military broadly and to the experiences of soldiers and sailors specifically. They include official publications such as the United States Naval Gazette, the United States Pension Record and Departmental Gazette, and the Military and Naval Magazine of the United States; general titles for soldiers and sailors, such as the Soldiers Casket the War Drum, and the Grand Army Sentinel; publications devoted to military-related benevolent organizations and activities, such as the Seaman's Friend, the Fair Record of the Union Volunteer Refreshment Saloon, and the Old Soldier's Advocate; and periodicals dedicated to temperance and religious concerns, such as the Soldiers Visitor and the Lifeboat. Supplementing this core of military-related titles is a group of periodicals pertaining to early law enforcement, such as the National Police Gazette.

Contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library.

The Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 collection focuses on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups. All Christian churches engaged in forms of outreach to groups or individuals who were in need, and this outreach was often inseparable from sharing a religious message and mission. The publications in this collection include those for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Online codes for many areas of Louisiana, including municipalities (New Orleans, Kenner, Covington) and parishes (Jefferson, St. Bernard, St. Charles, and Tangipahoa)

The Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879 collection gathers publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic. Before widespread use of the printing press in the nineteenth century, the popular culture of the United States was largely an oral one, and much of it revolved around music. Often including related content on the arts, literature, and sometimes science, these periodicals show music in a larger cultural context, as music was also an important leisure activity for families and communities. Representative titles include the Family Minstrel, the Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes: A Monthly Paper Devoted to the Interests of Bands and Orchestras, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, the Vox Humana, and the New Yorker Musik Zeitung.

An index to 640 international music journals (1976-present) Music Index is international in scope with journals from over 30 countries. Music Index includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 92 active global OA journals.