A-Z and Subject Databases: General Reference
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
General Reference Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- ArticleFirstCites articles from tables of contents of over 12,000 journals
- Bayou State Periodical IndexIndexes articles in over 80 periodicals relating to Louisiana (1985-present)
- CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsCovers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
- Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
- Ebook Central by ProQuestThe Library provides access to over 200 electronic books from Ebrary, covering a variety of disciplines
- ebooks (Gale)Online reference book collection for the arts, business, education, the humanities, social
sciences, and the sciences. - Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaThis database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Literati by CredoCredo Reference provides access to almost 600 reference titles covering a broad range of disciplines.
- MasterFILE CompleteMasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
• More than 2,300 full-text magazines and journals
• More than 870 full-text reference books
• More than 73,000 full-text primary source documents
• More than 1.6 million photos, maps and flags
• More than 70,000 videos from the Associated Press (AP) - Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source provides full text for more than 1,200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; more than 40 news magazines, news from more than 130 newswires, more than 77 million full-text articles, and more than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus brings critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day with its News View feature. News View also includes television and radio news transcripts from top sources. See More info for details. - PrepSTEPAccess to multiple online practice tests and tutorials designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests that they must pass.
- Northstar Digital LiteracyUse PIN ANJK to connect to the University of New Orleans site access.
Learn it, know it, show it.
Northstar Digital Literacy tests your computer skills. You can build skills in key areas, and demonstrate your knowledge by earning certificates and badges. Prepare for your future now! - Referencia LatinaA comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.