A-Z and Subject Databases: Chemistry
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
Primary Databases
Great places to start your chemistry research. These databases have citations to thousands of articles, and sometimes have links to the full-text of the articles.
- CAS Analytical Methods This link opens in a new windowCAS Analytical Methods makes it simple to locate, compare, and understand analytical methods published in top journals.
- CAS Formulas This link opens in a new windowThis integrated workflow tool is built from a human-curated formulation database and helps formulation scientists create products that are safe and effective.
- CAS Scifinder-n This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search for articles and patents in many areas of Chemistry. Special software is required and is installed on the Reference Area computers on the first floor of the Library. UNO faculty, students and staff may obtain the software by contacting the Science Librarian.
- CAS SciFinder-n - Registration Link This link opens in a new windowUse this link to register for access to SciFinder Scholar.
- ChemRxiv This link opens in a new windowChemRxiv is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication. ChemRxiv conducts a basic screen for plagiarism, offensive language, and non-scientific content, and will exclude materials that may pose a health or security risk if identified. Beyond this, the files are unedited, and are not peer-reviewed.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowContains citations to articles from all scientific disciplines. You can search by topic, author, and title, and also by citation (i.e., look up which other articles and authors have cited an article you know about). Also called the "Science Citation Index".
Other Databases
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a free resource that contains citations to journal articles mostly in science, technology and medicine. If you use this link to Google Scholar, or set your Google Scholar preferences to include UNO, it will provide links to full-text articles courtesy of the UNO Library.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowFocuses on medical information, but is also a great source of citations to articles about biochemistry, pharmaceuticals, and cellular & molecular biology. MEDLINE is also known as PubMed and can be searched at the NCBI website, but using the interface available from this page will give you more links to full-text journals in your results.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowContains information about the structures and biological activities of small molecules. Search for molecules using names, synonyms, keywords or chemical structure drawings.
- TOXNETToxicology and environmental information from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Includes TOXLINE (Toxicology Literature Online), HSDB (Hazardous Substance Data Bank), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology), DART (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology), TRI (Toxic Release Inventory), and ChemIDplus, a free database of over 370,000 chemical compounds.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA large general database containing citations to both popular and scholarly articles about an enormous range of topics (not just science!). Articles found from this database will likely be less specialized than those found in science-specific databases.
- Common ChemistryThis resource from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number® of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information. The CAS Registry Number is the universally recognized unique identifier of chemical substances and is often found on packaging and on articles of commerce.
While not a comprehensive CAS Registry Number lookup service, Common Chemistry does provide a way to quickly and easily find names or CAS Registry Numbers for chemicals of general interest.