A-Z and Subject Databases: Government Information

This bibliographic database provides more than 2.5 million citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Coverage for this database dates back to 1979. AGRICOLA offers a variety of source types related to agriculture

An index to print and electronic publications created by federal agencies. Links are provided to full-text material if available. Coverage of federal publications in this database starts with 1994.

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 32 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes 493 active indexed and abstracted journals. 439 of them are peer-reviewed.

Subjects Covered
Criminology
Criminal justice
Criminal investigation
Criminal law and procedure
Corrections and prisons
Forensic sciences and investigation
History of crime
Police and policing
Probation and parole
Substance abuse and addiction

Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.

Access to the full text of most ERIC Documents. ERIC is a nationwide information network sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
NOTE from the Dept. of Education (2013) -- The full text of all peer-reviewed articles and of all articles published after 2005 is released, as are the articles released through the scanning process (published prior to 2005). While we transition to a new website, users will not be able to request that PDFs be restored or submit documents for inclusion in ERIC. We will work to restore these features as soon as possible, by September (2013) at the latest. However, during this period, the PDF restoration process will continue behind the scenes.

The Census Bureau Foreign Trade online resource is “the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States.” It contains monthly data in zip files from 2010 – present.
The Foreign Trade online resource replaces access previously available through the U.S. Imports and Exports of Merchandise on DVD.
Note that almost all content is also available free to the public through the International Trade API. The U.S. Exports of Merchandise data in the API is complete, but the U.S. Imports of Merchandise data there is missing one variable: District of Entry. This is currently available in the Foreign Trade online resource.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Discover U.S. Government Information

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

Open access source for crime and justice data hosted by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

Open access database established in 1972. NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.

Science.gov is a web portal and specialized search engine that serves as a gateway to United States government scientific and technical information and research.

U.S. merchandise trade data - Imports and Exports.