A-Z and Subject Databases: Urban Studies
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
Urban Studies Databases
- Subject Help in Urban StudiesNeed help researching a topic in anthropology? Check out this subject guide!
- Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from several hundred periodicals. Man's speech, physiology, artifacts, history, environment, and social relations are described, analyzed, interpreted, and compared within the human and animal realms. Because the traditional focus of anthropology has changed from Third World societies to subcultures within industrialized nations, the Journal tracks social welfare issues, drug abuse programs, geriatric caregiver issues, and applied anthropology.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge), 1925-1985 (Readex Historical Newspapers) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheSearch across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge) Historical Archives, 1845-1991 (Newsbank) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheIn addition to Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985), includes some years of the Daily Advocate, Daily State, and State Times Advocate. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- America's News MagazinesIncludes 44 general and specialized news magazines, with varying dates of coverage, generally from the last 20-30 years.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes 493 active indexed and abstracted journals. 439 of them are peer-reviewed.
Subjects Covered
Criminology
Criminal justice
Criminal investigation
Criminal law and procedure
Corrections and prisons
Forensic sciences and investigation
History of crime
Police and policing
Probation and parole
Substance abuse and addiction - Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
- Ebook Central by ProQuestThe Library provides access to over 200 electronic books from Ebrary, covering a variety of disciplines
- Environmental CompleteEnvironment Complete includes 1,496 active indexed and abstracted journals. 1,361 of them are peer-reviewed.
Subjects Include
Ecosystem ecology
Energy
Environmental law
Environmental policy
Environmental technology
Geography
Marine and freshwater science
Natural resources
Pollution and waste management
Renewable energy sources
Social impact of the environment
Urban planning - Environment CompleteReplaces Environment Index. This database includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, Indexing more than 2,000 domestic and international journal titles going back 100 years and more than 180 monographs in environmental studies.
- Fuente AcadémicaFuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- GreenFileIndexing and abstracts as well as access to full-text articles addressing human impact to the environment.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
- IngentaThis database allows searching of tables of contents of over 25,000 titles, with full-text provided for selected publications. Emphasis is on sciences and social sciences. The library has online access to the journal titles that it subscribes in print.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).
- LOUISiana Digital LibraryThis site, maintained by the LOUIS Louisiana Library Network, collects digital objects from universities, museums, and research centers throughout the state and offers them in one searchable location.
- Louisiana Historical NewspapersFull text of 71 Louisiana newspapers with years of coverage varying by title. Includes the Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985) and New Orleans Times-Picayune (1837-2017).
- Newsbank Combined SearchIncludes the Times-Picayune (1837-present), Baton Rouge Advocate (1845-1991), Hispanic Life in America, Black Life in America, and America’s News Magazines
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source provides full text for more than 1,200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; more than 40 news magazines, news from more than 130 newswires, more than 77 million full-text articles, and more than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus brings critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day with its News View feature. News View also includes television and radio news transcripts from top sources. See More info for details. - Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsSanborn Fire Insurance Maps—originally created as a product to help insurance companies assess the potential risks involved in underwriting policies—have developed into a tool with myriad uses for multiple industries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance maps typically include the following information:
■ Building addresses
■ Building height
■ Building footprints
■ Street names
■ Number of stories per building
■ Building construction materials
■ Building use
■ Right of way - Social Science Citation IndexThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- Social Science Research NetworkDevoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThis product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
- Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune with Historical Archives, 1837-present (Newsbank)Also includes the Weekly Times-Picayune (1914-1918). Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- TRIS OnlineTransportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. Includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.