It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: Philosophy
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
The Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878 collection represents the origins and rapid growth of innovative religious belief and expression in nineteenth-century America. Often, these faiths found expression outside of the more traditional doctrinal and ecclesial boundaries. This collection of periodicals is focused on titles that reflect this spiritual seeking as it was expressed in alternative forms of worship and belief. Subjects include Spiritualism, Universalism, astrology, communes, free thought, and rationalism.
Electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present.
The Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881 collection presents the growth of the Baptist church, whose first American church was founded in Providence, Rhode Island in 1638. Baptist churches continued to flourish as the colonies and the nation grew. The history of the Baptist church and the history of America are intimately related, as this collection demonstrates. The collection also contains periodicals representing smaller church communities such as the New Jerusalem Church, Quakers, Shakers, Mennonites, Moravians, Brethren, and Church of God--all of whom, like the Baptists, also established a strong presence in the United States.
The Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals 1797-1904 includes local church publications, diocesan newspapers, fair periodicals, reports from denominational conferences, and many other titles. Catholics, Lutherans, Methodists, and Episcopalians all share common elements of worship, sacramentality, and theology and each church successfully rooted itself in the New World. While many common elements of their Old World iterations remained, these distinct churches grew and changed in response to their new and sometimes hostile environs. Subjects covered in this collection include theological disputes, arminianism, ant-clericalism, anti-Catholicism, Wesleyanism, and the spiritual interests of various ethnic communities.
The Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902 collection contains periodicals giving insight into the distinct Protestant ecclesial communities that thrived in America through their participation in the activities of Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed churches. Congregationalism spoke easily to a people with ardent democratic aspirations, and profoundly influenced the culture and government of the new nation. The Presbyterian and Reformed churches gave expression, in different ways, to the theology of John Calvin, and flourished with their emphases on ordered worship and theological and doctrinal rigor. This collection features a range of periodicals devoted to Congregationalism, including the long-running journal the Presbyterian, the influential Congregational Sunday school periodical the Well Spring, and the Reformed theological journal the Mercersburg Review.
The Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895 collection consists of periodicals that chronicle new religious movements that were founded in America, and especially those that flourished during the nineteenth century. This collection features important periodicals devoted to Adventists, Mormons, Disciples of Christ, Holiness/Pentecostals, millennialists, and Unitarians, among others. Subjects include camp meetings, health and wellness, apologetics, and theology.
The General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889 collection features titles that address broad religious themes and at the time appealed to a general readership. As various Christian communities and churches began to emerge a need arose for more general treatments of Christianity that appealed to a broad audience. Also featured in this collection are a significant number of titles devoted to sermons from various groups.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals in various disciplines. It attempts to maintain complete journal holdings from the first volume, but current volumes (from the past three to six years) are not included.
The Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 collection focuses on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups. All Christian churches engaged in forms of outreach to groups or individuals who were in need, and this outreach was often inseparable from sharing a religious message and mission. The publications in this collection include those for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems.
This collection of electronic journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. Coverage for individual titles varies but is generally from the late 1990's to the present.
The Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878 collection focuses on the spiritual and religious lives of women, children, and families. The publications represent various denominations and churches, including Catholic, Methodist, Episcopal and Baptist. Subjects include motherhood, child rearing, fatherhood, music, prayer, children's literature, and religious formation. Broader social themes include anti-slavery, universalism, and temperance. Prominent titles include the Ladies' Repository, the Children's Magazine (1827-1873), and the long-running Welsh periodical Y Cenhadwr Americanaidd (1841-1875).
The Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885 collection features a broad cross-section of Sunday school literature that was read in churches and at home. The rapid growth of the United States saw the emergence of many new church communities, and Sunday School was a central part of many youths' experience of church. The collection also contains training and preparation materials for teachers. Subjects covered in these publications include Bible and catechism lessons, music, and poetry from a broad range of religious groups across every region of the expanding nation. Church communities represented here include Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Unitarian, Lutheran, Church of God, Mormon, and various Sunday School Unions.
The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 collection explains how the temperance movement originated through religious and benevolent groups, how it quickly spread throughout the country, and the various kinds of temperance advocated, from calls for moderation to total abstinence. The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 provides periodicals dating back to 1826 when the earliest title, National Philanthropist, started publication from famed abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison as its editor. Subsequent titles are expansive in their geographic range, the political interests represented, and the social groups involved.
The Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877 collection focuses on biblical and theological study that have always been central to people and communities of faith. The titles here focus on biblical studies and theological reflection, in both lay and academic forms. The collection represents a broad cross-section of religious groups and major theological traditions: Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Catholics, Calvinists, Wesleyans, Arminians, and more. Prominent titles include the Bible Society Record from the American Bible Society, the Religious Intelligencer, the Princeton Review, and the Christian Herald.