It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: Sociology
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
Search state, regional and national full-text articles including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as business, health, education, government, history, politics and more including the Advocate, Times-Picayune and USA Today. (Louisiana newspapers including The Times-Picayune, and The Advocate)
Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
Covering the Vast Areas Related to Criminal Justice. Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. This database is formally produced by Sage Publications
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861.
Over two million dissertations and theses are available from the UMI vaults on microfilm or in hardcopy, and researchers can preview many recent titles electronically. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, more than 750,000 are available for download in PDF format.
Formerly NetLibrary, this collection of thousands of electronic books includes titles in all academic disciplines. These books can be searched as a collection or accessed as individual titles through our library's online catalog. ! Note - To download a book for reading on your computer, you must first set up an individual account and "checkout" the book. To read a downloaded book, install Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
You will also need to download the Blue Fire reader app in order to read books on handheld devices such as the iphone or android operating system devices.
Environmental Issues & Policy Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. Over 500 titles have ongoing coverage. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.
Replaces Environment Index. This database includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, Indexing more than 2,000 domestic and international journal titles going back 100 years and more than 180 monographs in environmental studies.
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Need help using this resource? Go to http://help.heinonline.org to access training guides, videos, and more.
This database trial ends October 31, 2018.
The Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889 collection captures the many things nineteenth-century Americans did in their spare time, and includes periodicals dedicated to fairs and bazaars, public lectures, sporting events, hobbies, and more. Although they worked extremely hard, Americans nevertheless found time for leisure activities. They printed small periodicals using their own hand-operated presses. They traveled more extensively, especially after the expansion of railroad networks and steamboat lines. They engaged in a diverse array of pastimes, from early forms of body-building to pigeon racing and stamp collecting. A sampling of titles is suggestive of the rich content found in this collection: Turf Field and Farm, the Bat and Ball, the Gymnast, Mason's Coin and Stamp Collectors' Magazine, the Magic Lantern, the Dubuque Chess Journal, and the Voice of the Fair.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals in various disciplines. It attempts to maintain complete journal holdings from the first volume, but current volumes (from the past three to six years) are not included.
Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877 represents the nineteenth-century Americans, primarily men who organized themselves into various societies loosely based on ethnic, social, or political affiliation. This collection focuses on friendly and fraternal societies -- primarily, but not exclusively the masons. Indicative of the popularity of these various organizations, affiliated publications emerged across the country: the Masonic Journal (Marietta, GA), the Masonic Trowel (Springfield, IL), the Masonic Token (Portland, ME), Iris and Odd Fellows' Mirror (Baltimore, MD), the Patron's Helper and Grange Instructor (Des Moines, IA), the Odd Fellows' Banner and Literary Companion (Bloomfield, IA), the New Weekly Messenger and Odd Fellows Advertiser (New York, NY), and New Age (San Francisco, CA).
The Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877 collection consists of publications pertaining to the military broadly and to the experiences of soldiers and sailors specifically. They include official publications such as the United States Naval Gazette, the United States Pension Record and Departmental Gazette, and the Military and Naval Magazine of the United States; general titles for soldiers and sailors, such as the Soldiers Casket the War Drum, and the Grand Army Sentinel; publications devoted to military-related benevolent organizations and activities, such as the Seaman's Friend, the Fair Record of the Union Volunteer Refreshment Saloon, and the Old Soldier's Advocate; and periodicals dedicated to temperance and religious concerns, such as the Soldiers Visitor and the Lifeboat. Supplementing this core of military-related titles is a group of periodicals pertaining to early law enforcement, such as the National Police Gazette.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
This collection of electronic journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. Coverage for individual titles varies but is generally from the late 1990's to the present.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsycINFO contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year.
This database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
This product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
This website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.Â It currently includes 79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, more
The Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 comprises of one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals that span the 18th through the 19th century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication. This series draws heavily from the Colonial through the Jacksonian Era, spanning roughly from the 1730's-1840's. Because almost all of the women's periodicals by nature covered many topics, the titles included in this collection highlight radically changing perceptions of womanhood and ideas about the role of women over time. Some representative titles are: the Lady's Monthly Museum or Polite Repository of Amusement and Instruction, the Ladies' Companion, the Lady's Book, and Margret Fuller's Transcendentalist publication, the Dial.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. Spanning the antebellum and Civil War eras, this group represents a broad range of subjects and places of publication, reflective of the turbulent yet optimistic years of Westward expansion and war. Drawing heavily from the temperance and abolition movements, this collection includes a number of female authors and publishers who helped to cement the foundations of women's active role in American social and religious movements. Notable long-running publications include Dickens' Household Words and Valuable Whispers, Godey's Lady's Book, the Ladies Repository, and Peterson's Magazine.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. These titles span the later part of the nineteenth century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication, from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North. Taken together, they allow scholars to focus on how women in particular struggled to recover from the Civil War during the years of Reconstruction. A few representative titles include Harper's Bazaar, the Southern Review, and Harriet Beecher Stowe's Hearth and Home. The Agitator, the True Woman, and the Woman's Advocate are a few examples of the women's political magazines that can also be found here.