It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: C
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
The Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877 is a modest collection representing periodicals published in Canada (the majority), and those whose main subject is Canadian history, literature, or politics (the minority). Titles are in English and French, and were published in cities such as Montreal, Quebec, and Toronto, among others. The publications cover the gamut of subjects, including tourism, education, literature, the law, religion, and even stamp collecting.
The Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals 1797-1904 includes local church publications, diocesan newspapers, fair periodicals, reports from denominational conferences, and many other titles. Catholics, Lutherans, Methodists, and Episcopalians all share common elements of worship, sacramentality, and theology and each church successfully rooted itself in the New World. While many common elements of their Old World iterations remained, these distinct churches grew and changed in response to their new and sometimes hostile environs. Subjects covered in this collection include theological disputes, arminianism, ant-clericalism, anti-Catholicism, Wesleyanism, and the spiritual interests of various ethnic communities.
Open access resource for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Includes data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rico Community Survey, the Population Estimates Program, the Economic Census, and then Annual Economic Surveys.
Allows searching for information in many of the top Chemistry reference sources, including the latest editions of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Combined Chemical Dictionary, Properties of Organic Compounds and more.
ChemSpider links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures. ChemSpider is owned by the RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) and provided as a free resource to the community.
ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
Includes: Journal of the American Chemical Society, Canadian Journal of Chemistry, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Bulletin, Synthetic Communications, Journal of Heterocyclic Chemistry, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, The Journal of Organic Chemistry, Organic Syntheses, Synthesis, Chemistry Letters, Tetrahedron, Tetrahedron Letters
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
CIRCLE conducts research on the civic and political engagement of young Americans. It also provides a stream of reliable data and analysis that helps Americans understand the strengths and weaknesses of civic education, broadly defined.
CIRCLE was founded in 2001 with a generous grant from The Pew Charitable Trusts and has also been funded by Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Corporation for National and Community Service, the Ford Foundation, the Spencer Foundation, and several others. It is based at the Jonathan M. Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service at Tufts University.
CiteSeerX is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerX aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
The College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877 collection captures a broad view of the events, humor, and lifestyle of campuses around the country, and provides researchers with a better understanding of popular culture through the eyes of its younger members. Many youth in nineteenth-century America engaged in academics, and they enjoyed sharing their activities and the emerging talents they developed at school with their fellow students and teachers. Included here are college student titles from the northeast, such as: the Vassar Miscellany and the Trinity Tablet; from the South: the Hermathenian and Journal of the Virginia Collegiate Institute and the Georgia University Magazine; from the Midwest: the Eureka College Vidette and the Notre Dame Scholastic; and from the West Coast: the Berkeleyan and the Napa Classic. The collection also includes titles featuring schools' literary efforts, such as the Hamilton Literary Monthly, the Rutgers Literary Miscellany, and Centre College Magazine: Devoted to Literature. In addition, diverse types of schools are represented here, including technical colleges, military academies, and business schools. A number of publications were largely written by and for women, such as the Pactolus, the Parethenian or Young Ladies Magazine, and the Sunbeam.
The Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877 collection is comprised of periodicals published in the South during the nineteenth century, in particular those focused on commercial and business concerns, broadly defined. Here, researchers will find publications devoted to agriculture, banks and banking, business and industry, technology, railroads, and advertising, among other subjects, chronicling small and large plantation farming, the business of keeping slaves, transportation networks, and more. Places of publication include Richmond, Lynchburg, Lexington, the lower Mississippi, New Orleans, Baltimore, Atlanta, Charleston, Macon, St. Louis, to name but a few.
FREE TRIAL - Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Many full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this databa
The Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902 collection contains periodicals giving insight into the distinct Protestant ecclesial communities that thrived in America through their participation in the activities of Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed churches. Congregationalism spoke easily to a people with ardent democratic aspirations, and profoundly influenced the culture and government of the new nation. The Presbyterian and Reformed churches gave expression, in different ways, to the theology of John Calvin, and flourished with their emphases on ordered worship and theological and doctrinal rigor. This collection features a range of periodicals devoted to Congregationalism, including the long-running journal the Presbyterian, the influential Congregational Sunday school periodical the Well Spring, and the Reformed theological journal the Mercersburg Review.
Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
The Trade Profiles, maintained by the World Trade Organization, provide standard information on the structural trade situation and trade policy measures of members, observers and other selected economies. The profiles are complemented with general macroeconomic indicators.
Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 32 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Covering the Vast Areas Related to Criminal Justice. Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. This database is formally produced by Sage Publications
FREE TRIAL - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes 493 active indexed and abstracted journals. 439 of them are peer-reviewed.
Criminal law and procedure
Corrections and prisons
Forensic sciences and investigation
History of crime
Police and policing
Probation and parole
Substance abuse and addiction
The Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877 collection is comprised of periodicals published in the South during the nineteenth century that focus on cultural concerns, broadly defined. Here, researchers will find publications devoted to education, literature, women's interests, philanthropic and benevolent endeavors, temperance advocacy, Masonic activities, general social movements, and more. Places of publication include Richmond, Lynchburg, Lexington, the lower Mississippi, New Orleans, Baltimore, Atlanta, Charleston, Macon, St. Louis, to name but a few.
The Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912 collection consists primarily of publications about the current events of the 18th and 19th centuries. These include regular reports on economics and government affairs, with titles such as the New England Post Office Record, the Political State of Great Britain, and the Social Science Review. Also strongly represented in this collection is a group of periodicals dedicated to local news and interests, including Proceedings of the Vermont Historical Society, Collections of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Mad River Valley Pioneer, and Bowen's Boston News Letter. In addition, there are many titles that take the country's history as their main subject: Lexington and Concord Centennial 1775, Stars and Stripes in Rebellion, the Scorpion: A Journal Devoted to the Interests of the Privateersman, the Historical Family Library, the Picture Gallery of the New and Old Worlds, and the Antiquarian and General Review, to name but a few.