Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
Advocate, The (Baton Rouge) America's Historical Newspapers 20th Century
Earliest issue: July 19, 1925
Latest issue: December 31, 1985
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Advocate, The (Baton Rouge; 1986-current)
Full text articles from the Baton Rouge, LA, Advocate newspaper.
Search state, regional and national full-text articles including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as business, health, education, government, history, politics and more including the Advocate, Times-Picayune and USA Today. (Louisiana newspapers including The Times-Picayune, and The Advocate)
Bayou State Periodical Index
Indexes articles in over 80 periodicals relating to Louisiana (1985-present)
This site is a catalog of public data sets produced by the City of New Orleans. If you don't find the data you need, please follow the "Suggest a dataset" link at the bottom of this page.
KnowLA: Encyclopedia of Louisiana
KnowLA is a comprehensive, dynamic online reference guide to the history and culture of Louisiana. The encyclopedia is accessible to anyone with a web-enabled device, free of charge.
Legal Source is an upgrade to Legal Collection. Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Source offers full text for more than 1,100 of the world's best law journals as far back as 1965.It has detailed indexing for legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications including ore than 420 law reviews.
Legal Source contains over 2.3 million records, including book reviews and case studies.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
LOUISiana Digital Library
This site, maintained by the LOUIS Louisiana Library Network, collects digital objects from universities, museums, and research centers throughout the state and offers them in one searchable location.
This site allows anyone--state officials, academics, and the general public--"to interactively create, view, and print high-quality maps for any location within Louisiana. Geographic data managed and maintained by local, state, and federal agencies have been combined to enable YOU to create easily create and print your own maps of Louisiana - for FREE."
Online codes for many areas of Louisiana, including municipalities (New Orleans, Kenner, Covington) and parishes (Jefferson, St. Bernard, St. Charles, and Tangipahoa)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps—originally created as a product to help insurance companies assess the potential risks involved in underwriting policies—have developed into a tool with myriad uses for multiple industries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance maps typically include the following information:
■ Building addresses
■ Building height
■ Building footprints
■ Street names
■ Number of stories per building
■ Building construction materials
■ Building use
■ Right of way
Times-Picayune (America's Historical Newspapers: 20th Century)
Earliest issue: January 01, 1837
Latest issue: December 31, 1988
Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Louisiana State Legislature
Search Louisiana laws by legal body, citation, or words and phrases. Browse the various statutes, codes, rules or statutes.