A-Z and Subject Databases: S

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps—originally created as a product to help insurance companies assess the potential risks involved in underwriting policies—have developed into a tool with myriad uses for multiple industries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance maps typically include the following information:
■ Building addresses
■ Building height
■ Building footprints
■ Street names
■ Number of stories per building
■ Building construction materials
■ Building use
■ Right of way

The Science & Technology Collection contains over 820 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.

Science.gov is a web portal and specialized search engine that serves as a gateway to United States government scientific and technical information and research.

This database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.

is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

The Science Inventory is a searchable database of EPA science activities and scientific and technical products conducted by EPA and through EPA-funded assistance agreements. Science Inventory records provide descriptions of the activity or product, contact information, and links to available printed material or Web sites.

The Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901 collection contains publications related chiefly to the hard sciences: mathematics, astronomy, chemistry, physics, geology (including mining), and the like. It also contains a few social sciences titles and literary magazines with science content. Titles include: the Anthropological Journal, Astronomical Notices, the American Chemist, the American Journal of Microscopy and Popular Science, the Canadian Naturalist and Geologist, and Popular Science Monthly.

Provides the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. You must register to use this database on campus. Use your UNO email address when you register. https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=A171C2DC-86F3-5055-2518-D44023C013B8

Use this link to register for access to SciFinder Scholar.

Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS) for the American Institute of Physics Journals. More than one million articles contained in Journals, Conference Proceedings, and Magazines are hosted on Scitation. Full-text access is available only for journals that the Library subscribes to.

Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.
Database comprises approximately 1,600 original biocritical essays written and signed by noted scholars.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide.

This database provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration. Topics include noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, engineering, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of shock and vibration.

The Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 collection chronicles the African-American experience during the 19th century. While subjects run the gamut and include a fair amount of titles covering religion and literature (including the Pathfinder, Slave's Friend, Anglo-African Magazine, and Youth's Emancipator), the bulk are related to slavery and abolition, including titles such as the Freedmen's Record, Genius of Universal Emancipation, the Liberator, the Massachusetts Abolitionist, the Mirror of Liberty, and the National Crisis: An Antidote to Abolition Fanaticism, Treason and Sham Philanthropy.

Includes nearly 2,000 titles, 10,000 volumes, and more than a million pages of slave-era research.

This database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.

Devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research.

This product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

Link provides electronic access to Springer Verlag's journals. The UNO Library subscribes to 19 of these journals. This collection includes journals in the fields of Mathematics and the Sciences.

Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877 comprises a collection reflecting the progression of print during the nineteenth century, when printed materials became cheaper to produce due to technological advances in printing and publishing. These enabled cheap forms of literature to flourish. During this time, story papers, dime publications and dollar magazines were exceedingly popular. This collection is comprised of a rich sample of these colorful periodicals, ranging from Ballou's Pictorial (Boston, MA) to Beadle's Monthly (New York, NY), from Frank Leslie's Boys' and Girls' Weekly (New York, NY) to Street and Smith's New York Weekly (New York, NY). Researchers will find adventure, humor and exaggeration in these pages as well as a glimpse into the imaginations of underappreciated and undiscovered American authors. This collection contains a vast range of titles that highlight an understudied American literary phenomena.

The Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885 collection features a broad cross-section of Sunday school literature that was read in churches and at home. The rapid growth of the United States saw the emergence of many new church communities, and Sunday School was a central part of many youths' experience of church. The collection also contains training and preparation materials for teachers. Subjects covered in these publications include Bible and catechism lessons, music, and poetry from a broad range of religious groups across every region of the expanding nation. Church communities represented here include Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Unitarian, Lutheran, Church of God, Mormon, and various Sunday School Unions.

This source provides 50-100 page "lectures"; self-contained electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topic in engineering or computer science and authored by an expert in the field.