Library Guides: A-Z and Subject Databases: O

Ask A Librarian--Get Help

O

O*NET OnLine
Open access database offering information on occupational information. This is a resource of the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA). This is a replacement for the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT).
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations. The database also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.
ODS (Official Document System of the United Nations)
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
OED (Oxford English Dictionary)
This historical dictionary covers words from across the English-speaking world, providing etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, pronunciation, and tracing usage in a wide array of English-language sources. This web-based version contains the complete contents of the 20-volume print Second Edition and the 3 volumes of Additions. Quarterly updates and revisions serve as part of an ongoing effort to revise the entire publication.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. OATD currently indexes 1,938,023 theses and dissertations.
Open State Project
The Open State Project collects and makes available data about state legislative activities, including bill summaries, votes, sponsorships, legislators, and committees. This data is gathered directly from the states and made available in a common format for interested developers.
Organic Syntheses
Provides the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility.