A-Z and Subject Databases: Drama/Film

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.

This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.

Electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present.

Provides biographical information on a wide range of people

An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )

The Library provides access to over 200 electronic books from Ebrary, covering a variety of disciplines

Definitive index (including some full text articles) to film and television topics indexes several hundred journals, with some full-text available. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

JSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).

Faculty Resource: If you are planning to assign a film in your course, the library may be able to license a streaming version. Contact Lindsey Reno (lreno@uno.edu), the Acquisitions Librarian, to request purchase of a title to be assigned in class or if you have other questions about the availability of a particular film.

This database upgrades Literary Reference Center. The LRC Plus Database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies
• More than 780 literary journals
• Nearly 2,800 reference books
• More than 930,000 book reviews
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories
• More than 11,000 author interviews
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes

Provides selected full-text of biographical information on authors and critical analysis of literary texts.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. Designed and built with the needs of the entire new play sector in mind, the New Play Exchange serves writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and even fans of the theater.

This combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.