It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: B
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
The Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881 collection presents the growth of the Baptist church, whose first American church was founded in Providence, Rhode Island in 1638. Baptist churches continued to flourish as the colonies and the nation grew. The history of the Baptist church and the history of America are intimately related, as this collection demonstrates. The collection also contains periodicals representing smaller church communities such as the New Jerusalem Church, Quakers, Shakers, Mennonites, Moravians, Brethren, and Church of God--all of whom, like the Baptists, also established a strong presence in the United States.
The most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. This database includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (covering 2008 and part of 2009) and will soon include the Repertoire do la literature de l'art (RILA), on of the predecessors of BHA (covering 1975-1989).
A complete collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. This database provides users with easy access to information published in virtually every life science discipline (1969-present).
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day
Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Series I - 1704 - 1877
Series II - 1878 - 1975
A cross-curricular database that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
The Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858 collection represents the subjects of business and industry, broadly defined, dating from 1774-1858. The publications covered include journals devoted to specific trades (such as the Tailors' Magazine and Quarterly Report of Fashion, Operatives' Magazine, Coach Makers' Magazine) and professions (the Civil Engineer and Herald of Internal Improvement, Fireman's Gazette, Cozzens' Wine Press). The collection includes periodicals promoting the interests of large industries, such as the railroads (American Railroad Journal), and the growing financial sector (Debtors Journal, G. Adams' Business Intelligencer, American Insurance Examiner). Together, they chronicle the large-scale shifts in commerce during the years witnessing the rise of capitalism.
The Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870 collection represents the subjects of business and industry, broadly defined, focusing on the years 1859 to 1870. The publications include journals devoted to specific trades (such as the New England Mechanic, and Shoe and Leather Reporter) and professions (the American Merchant, Printers' Monthly Bulletin). They also include periodicals promoting the interests of industry (Pacific Railroad, the Journal of Industry). Subjects also include finance (the Insurance Intelligencer, the Wall Street Underwriter and General Joint Stock Register) and the emerging service industries (the Real Estate Register of the North-West, the Detective's Manual and Officer's Guide). Together, they chronicle the large-scale shifts in commerce during the years witnessing the rise of capitalism.
The Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901 collection represents the subjects of business and industry, broadly defined, focusing on the last quarter of the nineteenth century, during the second industrial revolution. The publications include journals devoted to specific trades (such as the Iron Molders' International Journal, the Lumber Trade) and professions (the American Letter Carriers' Magazine, Engineering News). They also include periodicals promoting the interests of industry (the Paper Trade Journal, the Coal and Iron Record, the Western Manufacturer, the Railroad Advertiser). Subjects also include finance (the National Business Index, the Banker and Tradesman) and the emerging service industries (the Scranton Law Times, the Real Estate Reporter). Together, they chronicle the large-scale shifts in commerce during the years witnessing the solidification of capitalism, mass production, and industrialization.
The Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885 collection focuses on the long and rich history of education in the United States. The titles found here reflect a broad range of pedagogical methods as they changed over time, and encompass teaching in the classrooms of public and private schools alike. Also included here are titles dedicated to teaching in college, teaching trades and professional skills, teaching English grammar and foreign languages, and more. National and state education is represented in titles such as the Journal of Progress in Education and Social Improvement, the Popular Educator, the Common School and Iowa Journal of Education, and the Maine Common School Advocate. Business school publications include Eastman's State and National Business College, and Bryant, Stratton & Bell's Peoria, Illinois Business College Monthly. Titles dedicated to the trades include the Penman and Accountant, the Phonographic Comet, the Southern Workman: Devoted to the Industrial Classes of the South, and the American Polytechnic Journal. Specialized publications, such as the Gallaudet Guide and Deaf Mutes Companion, the Polyglot, Amerikanische Schulzeitung, Comstock's Phonetic Magazine, the Mnemonical Magazine, and De Fonetic Propagandist demonstrate the diversity of titles in this collection.
Includes searchable cited references, author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database, and over 10,000 full text sources including academic journals, industry profiles, trade publications, etc. Available via EBSCOhost.
Business USA is a product of collective thoughts and inputs from the following agencies who have pledged their commitment to making this site a one-stop shop for everything related to business in the USA. It is currently in Beta.