It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: Arts and Humanities
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (For coverage of non North American history see Historical Abstracts). AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American histo
This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
This database includes more than 360 full-text periodicals (40 more than Art Full Text); 220 full-text books (not in Art Full Text); Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books; and A collection of over 63,000 images.
A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present.
The most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. This database includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (covering 2008 and part of 2009) and will soon include the Repertoire do la literature de l'art (RILA), on of the predecessors of BHA (covering 1975-1989).
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861.
Over two million dissertations and theses are available from the UMI vaults on microfilm or in hardcopy, and researchers can preview many recent titles electronically. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, more than 750,000 are available for download in PDF format.
In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, EBSCO Publishing created a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
Definitive index (including some full text articles) to film and television topics indexes several hundred journals, with some full-text available. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals.
Historical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities, including article abstracts, and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered by America: History and Life. Provides indexing of more than 2000 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Includes links to full text articles.
This database allows searching of tables of contents of over 25,000 titles, with full-text provided for selected publications. Emphasis is on sciences and social sciences. The library has online access to the journal titles that it subscribes in print.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals in various disciplines. It attempts to maintain complete journal holdings from the first volume, but current volumes (from the past three to six years) are not included.
This database upgrades Literary Reference Center. The LRC Plus Database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies
• More than 780 literary journals
• Nearly 2,800 reference books
• More than 930,000 book reviews
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories
• More than 11,000 author interviews
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. Designed and built with the needs of the entire new play sector in mind, the New Play Exchange serves writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and even fans of the theater.
This historical dictionary covers words from across the English-speaking world, providing etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, pronunciation, and tracing usage in a wide array of English-language sources. This web-based version contains the complete contents of the 20-volume print Second Edition and the 3 volumes of Additions. Quarterly updates and revisions serve as part of an ongoing effort to revise the entire publication.
This collection of electronic journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. Coverage for individual titles varies but is generally from the late 1990's to the present.