It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z and Subject Databases: W
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
This database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
Provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States. These collections have been made available by research libraries belonging to the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and other academic library partners. The WWDL is a valuable resource for researchers, policy makers, scholars, Native American tribes, professionals working in various fields, and others interested in contemporary and historic water issues.
This website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.Â It currently includes 79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, more
The Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 comprises of one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals that span the 18th through the 19th century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication. This series draws heavily from the Colonial through the Jacksonian Era, spanning roughly from the 1730's-1840's. Because almost all of the women's periodicals by nature covered many topics, the titles included in this collection highlight radically changing perceptions of womanhood and ideas about the role of women over time. Some representative titles are: the Lady's Monthly Museum or Polite Repository of Amusement and Instruction, the Ladies' Companion, the Lady's Book, and Margret Fuller's Transcendentalist publication, the Dial.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. Spanning the antebellum and Civil War eras, this group represents a broad range of subjects and places of publication, reflective of the turbulent yet optimistic years of Westward expansion and war. Drawing heavily from the temperance and abolition movements, this collection includes a number of female authors and publishers who helped to cement the foundations of women's active role in American social and religious movements. Notable long-running publications include Dickens' Household Words and Valuable Whispers, Godey's Lady's Book, the Ladies Repository, and Peterson's Magazine.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 collection represents one of three collections containing women's-related periodicals. These titles span the later part of the nineteenth century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication, from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North. Taken together, they allow scholars to focus on how women in particular struggled to recover from the Civil War during the years of Reconstruction. A few representative titles include Harper's Bazaar, the Southern Review, and Harriet Beecher Stowe's Hearth and Home. The Agitator, the True Woman, and the Woman's Advocate are a few examples of the women's political magazines that can also be found here.