A-Z and Subject Databases: Anthropology
Databases by name and by subject.If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Ask A Librarian--Get Help
Anthropology Databases
- Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting service in the field of anthropology, abstracting articles from several hundred periodicals, with coverage back to 1999. The database covers all anthropological subfields: cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. The abstracted articles include subcultures within industrialized nations and track social welfare issues, drug abuse programs, geriatric caregiver issues, and applied anthropology.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Anthropological Index OnlineAn index to anthropological Journals (1960s-)
- AnthrosourceOnline archive and searchable database of 32 American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals, bulletins and newsletters. AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline.
- Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsSanborn Fire Insurance Maps—originally created as a product to help insurance companies assess the potential risks involved in underwriting policies—have developed into a tool with myriad uses for multiple industries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance maps typically include the following information:
■ Building addresses
■ Building height
■ Building footprints
■ Street names
■ Number of stories per building
■ Building construction materials
■ Building use
■ Right of way - Social Science Citation IndexThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThis product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
- Subject Help in AnthropologyNeed help researching a topic in anthropology? Check out this subject guide!
- Advocate (Baton Rouge), 1925-1985 (Readex Historical Newspapers) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheSearch across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Advocate (Baton Rouge) Historical Archives, 1845-1991 (Newsbank) also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheIn addition to Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985), includes some years of the Daily Advocate, Daily State, and State Times Advocate. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- America's News MagazinesIncludes 44 general and specialized news magazines, with varying dates of coverage, generally from the last 20-30 years.
- Louisiana Historical NewspapersFull text of 71 Louisiana newspapers with years of coverage varying by title. Includes the Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985) and New Orleans Times-Picayune (1837-2017).
- Newsbank Combined SearchIncludes the Times-Picayune (1837-present), Baton Rouge Advocate (1845-1991), Hispanic Life in America, Black Life in America, and America’s News Magazines
- Times-Picayune (1989-2019) - text onlyFull text content of the New Orleans, LA Times-Picayune newspaper.
This is the text only view of the newspaper. Content no longer added after June 30, 2019. Please go to Times-Picayune/New Orleans Advocate page images (2017-present for current content.. - Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Times-Picayune with Historical Archives, 1837-present (Newsbank)Also includes the Weekly Times-Picayune (1914-1918). Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Women and Social MovementsThis website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. It currently includes 79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, more
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.