A-Z and Subject Databases: P

Patent Calls' Tools is a patent search system with additional claim markup and legal status features. The patent data offered by the tool consists of United States (US) granted patent and patent applications.

Includes open access databases PatFT (Patent Full Text) and AppFT (Applications Full Text). PatFT offers full text from 1976; AppFT offers items published since March 2001. Managed by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

The Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880 collection is comprised of titles that were either published outside of the United States, or published within the United States but largely concerned with foreign countries. They were read by both American and international audiences. Mostly published in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, they represent the continued influence of colonialism on literature, fashions, and politics. London, Calcutta, Ottawa, Montreal, Foochow, Bombay, Madras, Edinburgh, Halifax, and Toronto are among the many places of publication represented here.

Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881 draws from the publications that created the literary and cultural traditions of the Young America and later Manifest Destiny movements. As the United States expanded so too did its belief in its own exceptionalism, and the necessity of bringing progress to the world. Highlights of this collection include Harper's Weekly, John L. O'Sullivan's writings in Northern Lights, the essays of Josiah Strong in the Home Missionary and Pastor's Journal, as well as numerous small town western publications. This collection provides scholars with a unique snapshot into the periodicals that expressed the ideas that fueled America's westward expansion.

The Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879 collection represents literature of the British Empire, specifically focusing on colonial North America. Many of the periodicals were printed in Europe, Canada or appear as publications reissued in America. A few titles come from Asia. Notable editors and contributors include Joseph Addison, Daniel Defoe, Samuel Johnson, Thomas Paine, and Richard Steele. As a whole, these titles provide scholars with a unique insight into the colonies' complex relationship with European home countries as they developed their own identity in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Tufts University resource that may be useful to those researching the Classics--Greek and Latin texts, in particular.

An open access, nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It includes a topic index, a publications index, a databank, as well as an interactive section.

A collection of published data and internal Johnson Matthey data defining the physical properties and characteristics of platinum group metals and their alloys.

This is an index of all the chemical spectra from the PhotochemCAD package by Jonathan Lindsey. This program allows rapid comparison of spectra and enables one to do a variety of photochemically relevant calculations.

Comprehensive, open access digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

The Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889 presents the happenings from the 18th and 19th centuries when lyceums, athenaeums, and universities sprung up across the United States as Americans began to educate themselves as never before. The titles in this collection draw heavily from these institutions and address the pursuit of the sciences, history and the arts. Notable publications in this collection include Benjamin Franklin's the General Magazine and Historical Chronicle for All the British Plantations in America (Philadelphia, PA), Benjamin Mecom's the New England Magazine (Boston, MA) and Frank Leslie's New York Journal of Romance, General Literature, Science, and Art (New York, NY). Scholars using this collection will gain an appreciation for how 18th and 19th Century Americans chose to educate themselves.

Access to multiple online practice tests and tutorials designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests that they must pass.

Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

This collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.

PROL is a pre-print server that serves as the common resource for all emerging scholarship in political science. Some features may require creating a free account.

Search
Dissertation & Theses @ University of New Orleans
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )

An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )

Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications.

The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies. The RCSB PDB also provides a variety of tools and resources. Users can perform simple and advanced searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function. These molecules are visualized, downloaded, and analyzed by users who range from students to specialized scientists.

The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

PsycINFO contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year.

Contains information about the structures and biological activities of small molecules. Search for molecules using names, synonyms, keywords, or chemical structure drawings.
Need help using PubChem? Access its tutorial at: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubchem/tutorial/>https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubchem/tutorial/

Providing up-to-date bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.